John 2:1-12

day 4
Jesus has just begun collecting a few disciples when they are invited to attend a wedding in Cana. Jesus’ mother, Mary, was there so it may have been a family wedding or some people with family ties. As is typical at weddings, things can go wrong. In this case they have run out of wine. You have to wonder why Mary thought this was her problem but clearly she chose to address it.

Now it’s not like you can send someone on a run to 7-11 or Publix, so Mary goes to Jesus. And Jesus said to her, ‘Woman, what does this have to do with me? My hour has not yet come.’ It seems a little rude of Jesus to call his mother “woman” but maybe not. I have hornswoggled my kids into action when I have volunteered to help with something and decided they needed to help me. Mothers do this sort of thing. She was confident enough to give instructions to the servants.

Jesus seems reluctant because of the timing but it’s His Mom and it’s a big deal.

Jesus uses what’s at hand – “…six stone water jars there for the Jewish rites of purification”. Each one held 20 or 30 gallons – that’s a lot of purifying! Jesus tells the servants to fill them up with water. Now I wonder, where did they have to go to get 120 to 180 gallons of water? Maybe the well was close by and they had a donkey cart to haul with. But they get it done and bring them back to Jesus.

So He tells them to “draw some out and take it to the master of the feast.” They do it. (Now let’s pause here. I’m the servant, right? And I know for a fact there is nothing but water in these jars and I might be thinking whose head is going to roll here? This is the first miracle so Jesus didn’t have any reputation happening. Frankly I don’t think I would have trusted Him.) Imagine their relief when the master of the feast thinks it’s the best wine!

The master goes on to compliment the bridegroom for going far and beyond by serving the best wine even after the guests probably wouldn’t know the difference. This, the first of his signs, Jesus did at Cana in Galilee, and manifested his glory. And his disciples believed in him. I imagine the servants might have believed something about Him too.

I think of Jesus being my bridegroom – the bridegroom of the church. The banquet He has planned will display Him in all His glory. He is the host of the banquet where the best wine is served all the time. He handles the purifying and fills His own with joy.

About God?
He is planning a wedding where everything will be perfect.

About Me?
I would like to be counted with those servants who followed Jesus’ request without reservation.

About the World?
When the bridegroom comes, you want to be ready.

Your thoughts?

