John 12:12-19

day 27.jpg

The next day…after the dinner in Bethany with Martha, Mary and Lazarus…the large crowd in Jerusalem hears that Jesus is coming. And when they hear this they begin to prepare to meet Him.

Now we know the Pharisees are ready to arrest Jesus on sight if He shows up. And we know that the “victims” of Jesus’ healing are under scrutiny as well. And we know that the Pharisees are willing to ex-communicate or even kill anyone who might draw positive attention to Jesus. So everyone is going out to see Him come into town so they can get a view of the take down, right?

No, that’s the odd thing… and dangerous thing. It is just the opposite. The crowd is going out to welcome Him as “he who comes in the name of the Lord, even the King of Israel!” Holy smoke! Where did they get such boldness? I mean this was a spectacle. They were waving palm branches and lining the streets like the Macy’s Day parade. Surely they knew they would be seen.

You know what? Maybe they just didn’t care. Having heard that Jesus had raised Lazarus from the dead? Come on! Jesus, the miracle man, was here and they would not miss it! (Jesus is here – right this second and today, I feel blessed that I came out to meet Him. Not with a palm frond but with my cup of coffee and this amazing story. “Because I said I would” join this online study I have waited to see just what will happen when I come out to meet Jesus. I have not been disappointed. I’m not so disciplined without this accountability so God provided it. He invited me to be part of the crowd and we could all go together and pull each other along. I do live in Florida…I know there is a palm frond around here somewhere!)

“Jesus found a young donkey and sat on it” These little quirky things happen and they end up being a big deal. Here He fulfills a prophecy from Zechariah 9:9: “Fear not, daughter of Zion; behold, your king is coming, sitting on a donkey’s colt!” There have been countless debates in the Temple about who Jesus is or who He isn’t and so here you go, another confirmation…He is the king.

I love that the first words are “Fear not.” Do not be afraid to come out and see. Do not be afraid to acknowledge Him. This is your king. (Daughter -Do not fear anything…He is here.)

Often things come together after the fact and so it’s not too surprising that the disciples didn’t connect all the dots at this point. When it was all over they had time to reflect. Most of the time I don’t really see God’s hand at work when I am caught up in the drama of my life…my attention is on the minutia. It takes some quiet time to pull back and ponder –  to see there was a God-plan – there IS a God-plan for the details of my life.

The ones who have encountered the miracles of Jesus just cannot stop talking. This talking – this testimony of what God has done – it matters. In fact, the Pharisees feel like “the world has gone after him.” That’s the God-plan – that the whole world would come. Me? Tell!

About God?
He’s got a big plan to get world’s attention.

About Me?
The ones who have encountered the miracles of Jesus should not stop talking.

About the World?
Check out the Palm Frond Parade and encounter the King.

One thought on “John 12:12-19

Your thoughts?

