John 12:20-26

day 28.jpg
Jesus is in Jerusalem for the Passover. I can imagine there is a lot of excitement in the air after his grand entrance. Some Greeks have come to worship at the feast. I’m going to guess these were Greeks who had converted to Judaism because I doubt they would have been welcomed otherwise.

They didn’t approach Jesus directly. Instead they went to “Philip, who was from Bethsaida in Galilee.” This made me curious so I did a little digging. Turns out Philip is a Greek name and since he was a fisherman he probably spoke Greek (it was the international language for trade and fishermen would have needed to know it.) So maybe these Greeks approach Philip because he seemed to be more like one of them. And maybe they thought this connection could get them in. (I love the idea that God might use me to open a door just because I might have something in common with someone who is seeking. Could be anything…PTA, computers, grandchildren or picking out wine at Publix!)

Philip goes to tell Andrew. Andrew started out as a disciple of JTB and he and Philip were both from Bethsaida. Maybe Philip saw him is a kind of senior disciple who could give him some advice about this request from the Greeks. Whatever the reason, they go together to tell Jesus. (I’m personally fond of the buddy system – “iron sharpens iron” and all that.)

And Jesus answers them, “The hour has come for the Son of Man to be glorified. Truly, truly, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it bears much fruit. Whoever loves his life loses it, and whoever hates his life in this world will keep it for eternal life. If anyone serves me, he must follow me; and where I am, there will my servant be also. If anyone serves me, the Father will honor him.”

Okay, now that’s a lot! I’m not sure this is what the Greeks or the disciples were expecting. Jesus is just not wasting any time. It’s the end fellows and this is what it takes to get in the game. If you want to join me, then do what I do. Stay here and you’ll be alone. Hold on and you will lose anyway. Join me and honor and glory are the other side.

Truthfully this does not give me warm fuzzy feelings but it does put things in perspective. This life, as I know it, is a sinking ship. The way off is to let go and follow Jesus over the edge. The Father has a lifeboat waiting.

About God?
Way too much for me to understand.

About Me?
Some choices are scary and I will just have to trust.

About the World?
1…2…3…JUMP!

Your thoughts?

