John 12:27-36a

day 29
Jesus continues speaking: “Now is my soul troubled. And what shall I say? ‘Father, save me from this hour”? But for this purpose I have come to this hour. Father, glorify your name.”

On days when I’m not the one being crucified “Thy will be done and to God be the glory” are easy words. But the days when I have felt like Jesus does here – troubled beyond comprehension, terrified, struggling to keep it together – not so much. In this state of complete desperation all I can even think is “O God, save me!” It takes a good while before surrendering my life to Him even enters my mind. Even then, “God, You be glorified and that’s all that matters.” is beyond me. I’m definitely too chicken to ask for His glory if it doesn’t include my rescue. Now that’s just being honest.

Then a voice speaks from heaven: “I have glorified it, and I will glorify it again.” We know the people around Jesus heard the voice because Jesus tells them it was for their benefit not His.

One group decided it must be thunder. Drum up some practical explanation and you can slam the door on a miracle just like that!  Of course you are now safely locked inside your own head. I think it might be dull and dark when there is no room for mystery or wonder.

The other group decided it was an angel. At least these guys have imagination! They are willing to venture beyond their own senses. We need this because the spiritual world is beyond us. “Now is the judgment of this world; now will the ruler of this world be cast out. And I, when I am lifted up from the earth, will draw all people to myself.” These are mysterious words that defy my puny thinking… Jesus is over throwing the current world ruler by dying and when He is lifted up (exalted) everyone will follow Him? Amazing stuff.

They did get the dying part. They knew the Christ would live forever so how did that square with the fate of the Son of Man? Definitely no thoughts about a resurrection. And oh, by the way who is the Son of Man? I believe He just said “And I, when I am lifted up” – that’s I twice…You’ve got to be kidding…

Jesus is so straightforward: “The light is among you for a little while longer. Walk while you have the light, lest darkness overtake you. The one who walks in the darkness does not know where he is going. While you have the light, believe in the light, that you may become sons of light.”

“For this purpose I have come”…to be the Light. God knows we had no chance of getting out of the dark without a living, breathing light to guide us. It hurts my heart He had to die but, there is no way this chicken could have ever saved herself. Moreover, it is only His grace that drew me into the Light…only His grace.

About God?
He is able and will glorify His own name.

About Me?
I am a weak, broken clay pot carrying around the Spirit of the Living God. You will have no trouble telling us apart.

About the World?
Believe the Light!

One thought on “John 12:27-36a

  1. U know it’s not a bad thing to be a broken clay pot carrying the spirit of God around. That way it can leak out & go into all the world!!! Good job today. 💜💜🌈

    Like

Your thoughts?

