John 12:44-50

day 31

“And Jesus cried out and said,” is a bit unexpected. He had removed Himself from the previous hearers – some who believed but kept it hidden and some who out right rejected Him – but now, standing somewhere else, maybe in a crowd, He makes His message known to whoever will hear.

Whoever believes in me, believes not in me but in him who sent me. And whoever sees me sees him who sent me…” Dear People who are seeking the One True God, believing in me means you believe in Him. Seeing me means you are seeing Him.

“I have come into the world as light, so that whoever believes in me may not remain in darkness.” Dear Chosen People, you have been looking but have been kept in the dark. I am the light so that you might see God’s way.

“If anyone hears my words and does not keep them, I do not judge him; for I did not come to judge the world but to save the world. The one who rejects me and does not receive my words has a judge; the word that I have spoken will judge him on the last day.” Dear Hearers, I did not come to judge you, so don’t be defensive and close Me out. I came to open the door and lead you to freedom. If you are unwilling to come you are choosing a judgment I never wished for you.

“For I have not spoken on my own authority, but the Father who sent me has himself given me a commandment—what to say and what to speak. And I know that his commandment is eternal life. What I say, therefore, I say as the Father has told me.” Dear Ones, you have been following God’s commands as best you could. Listen because I am bringing you God’s command now. His commandment is eternal life – life in union with God.

Okay, I feel like I cheated when I glanced ahead at the rest of John. These verses were Jesus’ last public invitation to believe in Him. No wonder He just shouts. People may reject Him, people may think He’s nuts. He does not care about any of that. He shouts because one more person might hear and believe.

Sometimes I think I hear Jesus shouting to me…”believe…believe my words…forget what the world tells you, forget the voices in your head…step out of the dark and believe Me!”

And another thing…am I judging? It is so clear to me here that judgment comes because of a person’s choice.  That’s down the road – the consequence of unbelief.  That is not my call – ever!  How freeing is that? Really, it is! I do not have to tell anyone that their way of doing life is right or wrong.  My job is to love like Jesus loved – without conditions – and to simply offer His free gift.  I feel like the butler in the tux, holding out a silver platter and saying “Help yourself…it’s FREE!”

About God?
He is not above shouting if that might get someone’s attention.

About Me?
I want to be standing in the “no judgment zone” and shouting “Good News!”

About the World?
Jesus did not come to judge you or what you might be doing. He came to offer you a free gift – eternal life with Him.

2 thoughts on “John 12:44-50

Your thoughts?

