John 13:31-35

day 34

“When he had gone out” is a sad reference to Judas having left them. Of course he left the room but Jesus knew that Judas had left a lot more than that…

Yesterday’s passage ended on the poignant note “And it was night.” That’s where humans go to do dirty deeds. That’s where humans fool themselves thinking they are invisible and undetectable; that their actions only apply to them and no one will know their depravity. That’s where humans go to escape scrutiny and the accountability of their peers. That’s where humans withdraw to make choices they somehow know, might damage their souls. The dark is enemy territory and I’m scaring myself with these descriptions because I know I am vulnerable.

Wow…I wasn’t planning on going there.

But Jesus …whew!

But Jesus is talking GLORY! Glory – the polar opposite of night if you ask me. Think radiance – you know not just sunglasses bright but warm, shiny golden stuff, brilliance… well, LIGHT. I feel a lot safer here!

Jesus is laying out  this circle of glory. “Now is the son of man glorified” – that would be Jesus and “God is glorified in him” – that would be God the Father. “If God (the Father) is glorified in him (Jesus) then God (the Father) will also glorify him (Jesus) in himself (God the Father).” Pronouns! That last line I’m kind of guessing but I get this part “and glorify him (Jesus) at once.”

The real meaning of this word “glorified” is to make renowned, render illustrious, i.e. to cause the dignity and worth of some person or thing to become manifest and acknowledged. It’s a version of the word not found in secular writings (Thayer’s Greek Lexicon).

What is happening, Jesus is telling them, is His mission is on track, in motion and headed for victory. He is the Light and if there was any confusion about God or what He’s about – well, it’s out in the open now!

“Little children, yet a little while I am with you. You will seek me, and just as I said to the Jews, so now I also say to you, ‘Where I am going you cannot come.’” Jesus speaks tenderly when He calls the disciples “little children”. He knows this is going to be hard to hear – He is going where they cannot follow. They might be wondering “What, you’re putting us in the same group as the Jews?”

Jesus quickly dispels that thought by giving them new orders. He is still their master and they are still His chosen This is how they will remember and how everyone else will know: “A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” It’s curious to me Jesus didn’t tell them to love all the people in the world – He told them to love one another. That would be the distinction – how they lived in community. No Lone Rangers out to save the world. He’s building the church…body life and all that.

About God?
“Hallelujah! Salvation and glory and power belong to our God” Rev. 19:1

About Me?
Living in community keeps me in the Light and out of the dark.

About the World?
Church, if we’re going to turn on the Light, we’ll need to turn up the love one another.

One thought on “John 13:31-35

  1. Pingback: What Glory Looks Like | Christianity 201

Your thoughts?

