John 16:5-15

day40

“But now I am going to him who sent me, and none of you asks me, ‘Where are you going?’”
Ever been talking non-stop with your peeps only to see they aren’t tracking? Jesus is on a roll, sharing the next step in the Big Plan when He realizes He lost his audience back at “I’m going”.

But because I have said these things to you, sorrow has filled your heart.”
If anyone might know your heart it would be Jesus and so He slows down and helps the disciples make sense of their grief. (Often I need Jesus to catch me up and refresh my perspective on the work He is doing. He might find me sinking the quicksand of self-concern or stuck in despair and no matter how glorious His plan, He stops for me, reaches down and puts my feet back on the rock.)

Nevertheless, I tell you the truth: it is to your advantage that I go away,
Now let me explain why my going away is a good thing…

First course of business: Jesus must complete His earthly mission. He came to die for humanity’s sins, overcome death, defeat the enemy and return to the Father. Sad as they feel for the moment, Jesus knows their grief is temporary.

Secondly, Jesus has no plans to leave them alone – never did. The Helper will come and the Helper will be someone they know and feel comfortable with. The Helper will continue the work Jesus began – the mission has not changed. And this is how The Helper will proceed – by convicting the world of three things:

  1. Sin. And what is that sin? Unbelief. “they do not believe in me”
  2. Righteousness. “I go to the Father, and you will see me no longer” This is a little tricky but I think it means how to get it. Righteousness comes from rightly relating to God. Our righteousness is a “filthy rags” Isaiah says but we are covered in the righteousness of Jesus’- standing before God by grace – “it is not of works that any man should boast.”
  3. Judgment. “the ruler of this world is judged” The enemy has been overcome. (Once you know who wins, whose side do you want to be on?)

“I still have many things to say to you, but you cannot bear them now.”
There is so much Jesus has to tell but they can’t take it all in. The better plan is to reveal things step by step…guided into all truth. And so no one misses the point – the Spirit of Truth is in the same circle of knowing as Jesus and the Father.

And the amazing promises! He will guide you into all truth. He will declare to you the things to come. He will glorify Jesus. He will declare everything that is Jesus’ (which is everything that is the Father’s) to them. (If I could get my head around a piece of this, how would that change my day?)

About God?
What an incredible thing that God would slow down to explain something to me.

About Me?
Lost? Listen to the Guide.

About the World?
There is really only one sin – unbelief.

Your thoughts?

