John 20:11-18

day 52

But Mary stood weeping outside the tomb. This stands in contrast to Peter and John, who have entered the tomb, “believed” and gone home. You gotta think the disciples spoke to her before they left…tried to tell her what they thought had happened…there was nothing more to do here…go home. But Mary remained…crying until…

… She stooped to look into the tomb. And she saw two angels in white, sitting where the body of Jesus had lain, one at the head and one at the feet. It might take a second to sink in but this would get my attention! “Woman, why are you weeping?” This is a rhetorical question. As angels they know what’s going down – why else would they be there? Considering what they know, why would anyone be weeping instead of rejoicing? Humans!

“They have taken away my Lord, and I do not know where they have laid him.” Mary might be emotional in her grief but she’s practical in her mission – she is looking for the body.

Now isn’t this just like God. He puts things in terms we can grasp. Mary needed a body – she turned around and saw Jesus standing, but she did not know that it was Jesus. Here is the body she is seeking but it is not what she expected. She can’t tell its Jesus because she is looking for a dead man, not someone standing and talking to her! (I’m sure I’ve done the same – looked for the Jesus that fits my picture rather than the living, miracle Jesus standing right in front of me!)

It is not until He speaks her name that she recognizes Him. (The life changing part of this journaling project has been to stick around until Jesus speaks my name. That’s when my re-story telling becomes my story. Reading the comments from women all over the place on the IF:Equip page proves it to me. We may have silly questions and clouded vision but when Jesus speaks to us by name – then we know it is truly Him.)

Jesus said to her, “Do not cling to me, for I have not yet ascended to the Father; but go to my brothers and say to them, ‘I am ascending to my Father and your Father, to my God and your God.’” Mary is tenacious. Jesus understands and appreciates this about her. I think it is one reason He gives her this new assignment – “go to my brothers and say”. He knows she will follow through. (I can be tenacious. It’s a gift and a curse. Those with this calling can be like a self-guiding missile – intent upon the original target and unwilling to change course. This is a good lesson for me- don’t be a self-guiding missile. Be a Jesus guided one.)

Mary Magdalene went and announced to the disciples, “I have seen the Lord”. Now let me say, this is an event you cannot keep to yourself.

About God?
He knows each of us and made us exactly the way we are – for His purposes.

About Me?
If you have encountered the Lord, you have Jesus’ permission to go tell.

About the World?
“God is not dead” is not a movie. (John 20:11-18)

Your thoughts?

