Reflections on John

IF_Equip_JohnReview

Boy, where do you begin when considering our 55 day journey through the Book of John? I have reviewed my journal and hardly know which day to highlight over another. I’m trying to take a step back and look at the whole.

Certainly the first word that comes to mind is BELIEVE. Everything Jesus did and said was to point to His mission to be a Savior and demonstrate God’s love for us. There was constantly the choice before those who saw Him – believe or not to believe. It is the same choice I have every moment of every day. Believe He is God, Believe He has a plan. Believe He loves me. Believe I can trust Him. Believe.

The second word is ONENESS. John presented the oneness of the Trinity. God is the original community – Father, Son and Holy Spirit – equal in essence – singular in purpose – distinguished in duties – united in mutual appreciation. As His own we are called into this same oneness.

That oneness is to be demonstrated in our community, the church – the ragtag army He has given the mission of sharing His message with the world. “Love one another as I have loved you.” To the degree the world sees this – they will also see we are His disciples. This is our calling card, our introduction – the feat that opens doors.

We are not left to “do community” on our own – no the mystery is – we are invited into the community of the Godhead. Jesus prayed for each one who would believe – that they may all be one, just as you, Father, are in me, and I in you, that they also may be in us, so that the world may believe that you have sent me. The glory that you have given me I have given to them, that they may be one even as we are one, I in them and you in me, that they may become perfectly one, so that the world may know that you sent me and loved them even as you loved me. John 17:21-23

The challenge of loving is my moment by moment choice as well. Failure is a given. Forgiveness is required. Frustration is endless. And I know fruitfulness only comes as the by-product of abiding in Him.

On any given day, believing, loving and abiding can seem insurmountable tasks for me. In fact, they are impossible apart from Him. When they are accomplished – well there is no doubt in my mind who gets the credit or the glory!

Interestingly the Oneness has a purpose – that the world may Believe. Jesus’ mission has not and will not change, right up to the day He returns.

IF all this is true – it strikes me that each of us has a unique place in this mission – gifts and callings to pursue – and while I have believed this a very long time – this study has poured something flammable on the embers for me.

As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another. Proverbs 27:17

To IF:EQUIP and all of my sisters on this journey – I am grateful.  Can’t wait to continue our travel as we follow Jesus together.

2 thoughts on “Reflections on John

Your thoughts?

