Acts 1:1-5

a1

Luke addresses this second book as he did his first (Luke 1:3), to Theophilus. It is very cool that Theophilus means “lover of God” making the audience anyone, down through the ages, who fits that description… all the way to me.

In the first book, O Theophilus, I have dealt with all that Jesus began to do and teach, until the day when he was taken up, after he had given commands through the Holy Spirit to the apostles whom he had chosen. You’ll remember Book 1 was about every kind of thing that Jesus did or taught while on the earth, even after His resurrection, and He left commands for His apostles. So keep this in mind as you read Book 2!

He presented himself alive to them after his suffering by many proofs, appearing to them during forty days and speaking about the kingdom of God. It seems like Jesus was verifying and cementing in their minds that He was, in fact, raised from the dead. This is the lynch pin of the Gospel because without a resurrection you’ve got nothing.

And while staying with them he ordered them not to depart from Jerusalem, but to wait for the promise of the Father, which, he said, “you heard from me; for John baptized with water, but you will be baptized with the Holy Spirit not many days from now.”

These guys have started out hiding behind locked doors in fear. Now they have seen some pretty impressive, adrenaline pumping, amazing things. They are expecting the arrival of the “Helper” they were promised —but it’s going to be a few days. Wait. (This has got to be the hardest thing God asks me to do – wait. Sometimes it’s hard enough to follow Him – lack of courage or lack of vision or lack of interest – but when I think I’ve got something…wait is the buzz kill. Why is that the case? I want to do it myself…plain and simple. I’m Peter running off to “die with you Jesus” – right! God’s plan is to go about His business with the Power and Direction of the Holy Spirit…so wait for it!

Another thought about promises – God keeps His. Even when I’m ordered to wait, God never fails to deliver. In fact the promise is going to be something I could have hardly imagined. This is good news because one minute I’m full of bravado and good intentions and the next I’m exhausted at the thought of one more thing. God never meant for me to ride this rollercoaster – instead I am reminded to breathe in the stabilizing power of His promises to me…too many to mention but at least one for every situation. Hallelujah!)

ABOUT GOD?
God keeps His promises.

ABOUT ME?
Impatience and pride invite calamity.

ABOUT THE WORLD?
The promises of God are offered to anyone who wants to be a Theophilus.

2 thoughts on “Acts 1:1-5

  1. About God? He wants to show himself and speak to people.

    About me? If I want to receive his promises, I have to listen, obey, and wait.

    About the world? God chose us, the world, when he sent his Son. It is up to us to choose to look and to listen for him.

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

