Acts 4:23-31

a12
Boy did I need to read this today.

When Peter and John are released from the Sanhedrin they go straight back to the church to report what’s happened. I feel the buzzing nervous energy swirling in the pit of their stomachs! They probably couldn’t believe these words came so boldly from their own lips much less that they had pulled it off and been let go. So this is how it is to work in the power of the Holy Spirit…amazing!

I love the atmosphere of the de-briefing – we said this and they said that and then they told us we couldn’t talk about Jesus to anyone but can you believe we just said “sorry”…and here we are… It was so obvious to all of them what to do next. They just walked right up to the throne of grace and told God all about it!

Part of their prayer is a quote from Psalm 2:1-2. This is such a picture to me of the Hold Spirit at work, bringing to mind the truth of the Scriptures. These Jesus people had been reared with the Word of God all around them but there is no reason they would have necessarily made the link between a Psalm and the events of the moment. Jesus told them it would be part of the Comforter’s job description. (I’ve had moments when the HS has made a verse so clear to me it’s like He was standing there speaking. The confidence and assurance and comfort of that moment were everything I needed to keep moving. Sort of like reading today’s passage for the today ahead of me right now.)

This Bunch of Believers (BOB) were given an aerial view of God’s plan through time – from creation to David to Herod to the persecution of Jesus to the complicity of the Gentiles and People of Israel and they saw God doing whatever your hand and your plan had predestined to take place. (What a difference when one sees everything from His angle.)

Moreover this BOB saw themselves right in the middle of God’s plans –And now, Lord, look upon their threats and grant to your servants to continue to speak your word with all boldness, while you stretch out your hand to heal, and signs and wonders are performed through the name of your holy servant Jesus.”

And when they had prayed they knew that they knew that they knew – they were filled and fortified and moving forward. (That is the gift of prayer – it’s like I’m taking the train but one leg is dragging out the door trying to push and there’s my arm out the window trying to manage. When I ask why I am so frazzled the Holy Spirit gently puts my leg and arm inside the safe coach. Then He shows me how smoothly everything works by His power and gives me a glimpse of how things are proceeding so I know I’m on the right train. I’m feeling better all ready.)

About God?
God has a plan and He will carry it out – it’s a wonder to behold.

About Me?
Remember: I’m part of the master plan. Keep checking in.

About the World?
From creation to now – God is at work.

Your thoughts?

