Acts 8:26-40

a25

“So, Philip, you know that road down south that heads to Gaza – the one out in the desert? Go there.” This is the word from the angel to Phillip. Without a pause, Philip went.

(I’m sorry but my first response, after I got over the whole angel delivery service, would be “Does it have to be today? I’m slammed.” Really, are my priorities so skewed that an angel would need an appointment? Something about this makes me feel the tension between the burden of my calendar and the breeziness of God’s agenda. It sounds refreshing and light and a little daring…)

On the road, in a chariot, is an Ethiopian eunuch reading Isaiah. What are the chances? Luke tells a lot about this guy considering I don’t think I’ve read anything else about him in Scripture.

• He was Ethiopian – from a country adjacent to Egypt, (I have a friend from Ethiopia. She has short curly hair, a   cream in your coffee complexion and a radiant smile, so this is how I picture this guy.)
• He had come to Jerusalem to worship the God of the Jews – pretty amazing.
• He could not only read but was interested in reading the Scriptures – so he was dedicated to his faith.
• He was a eunuch – whether physically or by choice, one who abstained in order to be single-minded.
• He was a court official in charge of the treasury – trusted, responsible and in a position of influence. (He is about to possess a treasure of his own.)

But the attribute that really shines is his humility. So Philip ran to him and heard him reading Isaiah the prophet and asked, “Do you understand what you are reading?” And he said, “How can I, unless someone guides me?” And he invited Philip to come up and sit with him.

Philip opened his mouth, and beginning with this Scripture (Isaiah 53:7-8) he told him the good news about Jesus. One thing leads to another and at his request Philip baptizes the man.

Mission accomplished! Philip is whisked away by the Holy Spirit and finds himself in Azotus. From there he preaches his way to Caesarea.

Imagine what Philip would have missed if he had been me! More than that – my obedience to God’s tugging is not only about me. It’s about everyone God might be calling me to touch for Him. Am I to help, serve, pray, teach, comfort, love? How would I know unless I get up and GO?

About God?
He’s got the whole world in His hands.

About Me?
(Play theme song)
“Good morning Mrs. Rogers. This is your mission if you chose to accept it…” Mission: Possible!

About the World?
Got questions? God’s got answers.

Your thoughts?

