Acts 9:1-19

a26 Let’s talk transformation.

Here’s Saul, wannabe rock thrower. He’s gathered his creds and set out to find anyone who is following Jesus so he can tie them up and bring them back to Jerusalem. He heads out toward Damascus. That’s about 130 miles north to what is now Syria.

Just before he arrives he is blinded, knocked off his “high horse” and is questioned by Jesus Himself.

“Saul, Saul, why are you persecuting me?” And he said, “Who are you, Lord?” And he said, “I am Jesus, whom you are persecuting. But rise and enter the city, and you will be told what you are to do.”

The men with him heard the voice but didn’t see anyone around. Did they understand the words being spoken? Makes you wonder whatever happened to these guys after they dropped Saul off at Judas’ house.

Saul has three days to wait – he doesn’t eat or drink – just waits – in the dark. He has like a Jonah moment. Three days to pray and consider what Jesus might have in mind for him. (There are a lot of 3 days in the Bible that end up in some kind of transformation or resurrection. Saul didn’t choose this method of seeking God’s direction but the Lord chose it for him. These were life changing days. – Silly, but I’m a little jealous. What might happen if I were given 3 days to wait on Jesus alone?)

Meanwhile, across town, God is speaking to Ananias. (I love how he knows the Lord’s voice right away.) Ananias is a little anxious about the job he is given but the Lord assures him and he’s off, straightaway to find Straight St.

(This would not be me. Frankly I would have spent a lot more time asking God if He knew what I knew about this Saul guy. Lesson from Ananias – what God knows is more important – not to mention more accurate, than what I know.)

Ananias is fully convinced regarding God’s plan and does exactly what God asks. Brother Saul, the Lord Jesus who appeared to you on the road by which you came has sent me so that you may regain your sight and be filled with the Holy Spirit.” With these words he completed the vision Saul had been given. There would be no doubt for Saul that Jesus was in all of this.

(When something like this all falls together we call it “a God thing” and so it was. Imagine the foundation this has built for Saul’s faith. Recounting the God things in my life is like a shot of straight adrenalin to my faith and I know – all over again – God is alive and well and doing business here.)

…immediately something like scales fell from his eyes, and he regained his sight. Then he rose and was baptized; and taking food, he was strengthened.

About God?
God is the author of the “God Thing.”
Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it? Is. 43:19

About Me?
Be brave and quick to obey…God knows exactly what He’s doing.

About the World?
I once was lost and now I’m found, was blind and now I see.

2 thoughts on “Acts 9:1-19

Your thoughts?

