Acts 18:1-11

a46

When Silas and Timothy arrive they find Paul has moved from Athens to Corinth. He is living and working with Priscilla and Aquila who are tentmakers.

Paul has been reasoning every Sabbath with the Jews and Greeks at the synagogue. He is teaching that Jesus was the Christ. When it became apparent they were thoroughly rejecting his message Paul shook out his garments and said to them, “Your blood be on your own heads! I am innocent. From now on I will go to the Gentiles.”

He moved right next door to the house of Titius Justus, a worshiper of God. (Location, location, location – you know!)

Many Corinthians believed and were baptized including Crispus, the ruler of the synagogue and his entire family!

Even with these success stories Paul must have wondered from time to time if he was on target. I’m guessing it was this need for encouragement that prompted the Lord to speak to Paul one night in a vision: “do not be afraid, but go on speaking and do not be silent, for I am with you, and no one will attack you to harm you, for I have many in this city who are my people.”

He just needed a little ‘atta boy because after that he stayed a year and six months, teaching the word of God among them.

I mean who doesn’t need encouragement every so often? Well, maybe like daily! Following the Lord’s leading is not always so clear and outward success or failure (measured by human standards) is not a very good indicator of being on target.

Sometimes my following is not about defined mission – sometimes it is about trusting Him for something beyond me or hard or impossible or devastating. I’m not Paul out to share the Gospel across the known globe. I’m Beverley, at home, wondering about our finances or how our children are going to make it or if our grandchildren will have everything they need or what the next biopsy will show or what else awful will show up on the prayer chain.

And the encouragement I need is to believe He is still there and loves us and can be trusted with all this.

I haven’t had too many visions . But I have come to believe this: “either God is who He says He is or He is not.” Because I believe the former, somehow my heart finds rest when I read words like these:

No one who hopes in you will ever be put to shame – Ps 25:3

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” – Jer. 29:11

We wait in hope for the Lord; he is our help and our shield. – Ps 33:20

About God?
Your love, Lord, reaches to the heavens, your faithfulness to the skies. Ps 36:5

About Me?
But the eyes of the Lord are on those who fear him, on those whose hope is in his unfailing love. Ps 33:8

About the World?
If you don’t have Jesus in this life, I don’t know how you do it!

Your thoughts?

