Genesis 31:1-21

image

Again, God uses jealousy and unrest to make it clear to Jacob that it is time to move on.  He knew the time of leaving was beginning. He bargained with Laban to care for the flock. Laban tricked him but Jacob had God’s solution – spotted and striped – God’s plan to give flocks of reward to Jacob.
When the flocks were ready, another conflict –  grumbling of Laban’s sons.  It was time to go and go now!

The wives were another confirmation.  Yes they had seen the unfair treatment for 20 years.  They were in fact still carrying their own grudges over how their father had acted toward them.  When relationships are uncomfortable, that makes it a bit easier to move on.

All these earthly, painful, messy circumstances worked together to bring this family to a place of faith.

I wonder how often I view circumstances and pain in my own life as an affirmation of something God is already telling me.  It is like He knows He must gently pry my current situation out of my hands, so that I will let go and move forward.

When this happens, I don’t feel like things have been ripped from my grasp, but rather there is a sense of chosing, and being led and a small amount of courage – courage to step out in faith. 

Life sucks here and has for a long while but I stayed because…well, it was my life.  I struggled and learned and had happy days and sad and just went on. 

But now change is coming…I can sense it, I can see it unfolding, and I am shifting with it, releasing the old and stepping into the small current of courage.  Can’t see very far ahead but just enough to know there is a road and I am ready.

About God?
He is the maker of times and seasons for the earth, and times and seasons for our lives. With change He sows tiny seeds of courage to sustain us.

About Me?

Change is coming…I can sense it.  I can see it unfolding and I am shifting with it – releasing the old and stepping into the small current of courage.  I can’t see very far ahead but just enough to know there is a road and I am ready.

About the World?

To everything, turn, turn, turn
There is a season, turn, turn, turn
And a time for everything purpose under heaven.

2 thoughts on “Genesis 31:1-21

Your thoughts?

