Day 4 Joshua- Deut 1

“You have stayed long enough at this mountain…” is what jumps out to me today.  As Moses addresses the people at the end of their 40 years in the wilderness, he recounts the history that caused them to be there, the time (probably a year) they had just spent organizing the nation into army like groups, and most importantly God’s faithfulness and promises to them.

Now “you have stayed long enough”  it is time to move on.

This is exactly where I am in my life…a time to move on from where I have labored for a very long time. To retell the history, I would certainly find times of disbelief, times of victory, times of organizational planning and implementation, times of strife and times of justice being served.  But those times have come to an end.

Before the new nation he reminds them of the ultimate prize…the promised land.  It would be hard work but they were ready.  They knew the big objective but no one was looking at the tiny details of how exactly this would be accomplished…all they really needed to know was it WOULD be accomplished if they would believe and obey.

I got no details either.  In fact, I’m not sure I even have a map of the land to be conquered.  None the less, the first step of belief and obedience is “you have stayed here long enough…”

They must have felt some excitement in spite of the task ahead.  I’m excited myself about new territory…and a little afraid – maybe aprehensive is a better word.  But for now I will let the excitement push me forward and I will cling to the truth that there is nothing ahead that I will meet without Jesus in the lead.

About God?

God’s timing is perfect.

About Me?

We walk by faith and not by sight.

About the World?

“And no one pours new wine into old wineskins…” Mt. 9:17

Your thoughts?

