Day 5 Joshua- Joshua 1

I love the book of Joshua and I always think of God’s words to him to “be strong and courageous” so it is no surprise I am drawn to those words again today.  But today I have a bit of a different slant on courage.  As I have read The Power of Vulnerability lately, courage has been a key concept.  Courage is being brave enough to show up and be your true self; to reclaim the parts of you that have been lost because of fear or self-preservation by embracing vulnerability.

To my mind, there is nothing more vulnerable than living a life of faith.  It is not for the faint of heart, truly. In fact the Lord tells Joshua, “be strong and VERY COURAGEOUS”.  What is he to be very courageous about?  “being careful to do according to all the law that Moses my servant commanded you. Do not turn from it to the right hand or to the left…” 

For me this tranlates to this: be VERY COURAGEOUS in following the light the Lord is giving me  – even if it is only one step at a time, take that step.  Don’t be side-tracked and veer off the way.  Today’s word is a step to embrace and own.

There are many paths of interest and I can imagine where they might take me. But for now, there is no light shining on a given path.  So I am paused, practicing courage and waiting for directions.

About God?
God’s Word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.

About Me?
Learn to practice vulnerability – it is the greatest measure of courage.

About the World?
If you are looking to understand your true self, talk to the manufacturer.

Your thoughts?

