Day 4 Hebrews 2:10-3:6

“consider Jesus…who was faithful to him who appointed him…”

Maybe I’m on a Jesus roll because for the last couple of days in Hebrews his name keeps highlighting on the page.  I don’t think it’s my Kindle malfunctioning.   And now my eye catches “For Jesus has been counted worthy of more glory…”

I just have to wonder if I give Him more glory.  More glory, than say, my favorite TV show or new favorite book or… my own opinion?…  I guess I am more likely to look to myself as being the house builder instead of being the house. And boy am I a fixer-upper!

Apparently it was Solomon – the builder of God’s house – who wrote Ps. 127:

“Unless the LORD builds the house, those who build it labor in vain.”

Lord, forgive me when I think I am the house builder instead of the house.

Forgive me when I ascribe glory to other things when Jesus is the one worthy of more glory than any of these.

Remind me that in being Your house, I can be confident and boast about the hope and life and eternity I have found in You.  Let that be my boast to a hurting and needy world.

About God?
The builder of all things is God.

About Me?
“Some boast in chariots, others in horses; but I will boast in the name of the Lord” Ps. 20

About the World?
God is the contractor and Jesus is in the home restoration business.

2 thoughts on “Day 4 Hebrews 2:10-3:6

  1. About God? The ways in which he could have chosen to save the world are endless. However, he chose to send his son in flesh and blood then allow him to face temptation and suffering. Why? So that he can help us when we are tempted. So that he can empathize with us. So we have a role model in the face of temptation and suffering. Pretty impressive since he could have skipped all of that with a quick, “You’re saved.”

    About the World? We are family, both the one who makes people holy and those who are made holy, no matter the time, distance, or differences that separate us.

    About Me? Fix your eyes on Jesus so that you can see the work he has done and the work he is doing, but, more importantly, so that you can be a part of it. Then remember, it is not about you. He builds the house.

    Like

Your thoughts?

