Day 6 Hebrews 4:1-13

“Let us strive to enter that rest…”

What exactly does that mean?  How can striving and rest go together?  They are opposites, aren’t they?

So the word strive is spoudazo in the Greek (4704).  “It means be swift, go fast, be speedy by showing full diligence, acting fervently to accomplish all that God assign through faith (“His inbirthed persuasion”) Accordingly, 4704 spoudazo and faith (4102/pistis) are directly linked (Eph. 4:3-5; 2 Tim 4:7-9).” [Http://biblehub.com/greek/4704.htm]

Let me just say I love that description of faith – His inbirthed persuasion.  That is exactly what faith feels like – something God has placed “in me” as a persuasion to come close to Him or follow His lead.  But I digress.

So my new definition for striving here is “speedily make entering His rest a priority; part of resting is acting but only on what He has assigned through the persuasion of faith.”

(There are about 52 things I would like to dig out in this section. Like, why 4:12 about the word of God/WORD who is God? What about disbelief? And…but I have to limit myself today.)

This is what I do get. I need to set my priorities on the promptings of faith that are calling me to action. Stay clear on these and don’t slip off the path into other things.  The callings are empowered; they are God’s work through me – they are light burdens. I think this might be the place where disbelief is banished and Jordan Rivers are crossed.

About God?
God is for us.  And He wants us to believe it.

About Me?
Be speedy and diligent to attend to the promptings of “His inbirthed persuasions”.

About the World?

You can trudge through on your own, or you can step in the footprints of God.

4 thoughts on “Day 6 Hebrews 4:1-13

  1. About God? Without him and faith in him there is no rest. Works will never bring you rest. (Anyone ready to jump to James and discuss how faith without works is dead? So works cannot bring you rest, but are perhaps instead the natural outgrowth of experiencing rest? Can you rest while you “works”?)

    About the World? We live in a world that values being busy. Rest is an ideal that is often talked about yet rarely obtained. Hmmm…anyone seeing a connection?

    About Me? Jen, remember sleep and the absence of work is not what defines rest. “Jesus I am resting, resting; in the joy of what thou art; and I am finding out the greatness of thy loving heart.”

    Liked by 1 person

      • I struggled with this passage when I first started reading it. It was one of those days where I was reading, but could not get a grip on anything. I walked away and came back with these. It’s definitely got my mind turning on the idea of rest…what it looks like, why it’s important, how the rest in this passage is different from or similar to physical rest, etc.

        Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

