Day 9 Hebrews 6:13-20

“so… we who have fled for refuge might have strong encouragement to hold fast to the hope set before us.”

Thanks to technology we have an almost God’s eye view on things and I don’t know if you’ve noticed but the world is going to hell in a hand basket.  As far as I can tell, I have nothing to offer except to pray for God’s mercy on us all.  It hardly seems like anything.  In fact, it almost seems selfish – shouldn’t I be doing something that actually stops swords and bullets? Pray?..I don’t know how that works or why.

This I do know.  We who have found refuge in Christ are to be encouraged by the hope we have secured and for me, I need to respond to that hope.

“If my people who are called by my name humble themselves,
and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways,
then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin
and heal their land.”
2 Chron. 7:14

We used to pray this verse for America – well, “my land” just got expanded to include the planet. And while I have no clue how my confessing and seeking and repenting helps God’s children on the other side of the world I will take this strong encouragement and hold fast to hope.

“Lord, I sense you calling me to this prayer from 2 Chron. 7:14 because somehow my doing this will matter for the people who are hurting, suffering and looking for refuge. I pray you will remind and encourage me in being faithful to what you are asking.  I guess it’s okay to take this as a promise from you – that you will heal our land.  Here is something only You can do. Do it Lord – for your glory.  Amen.”

About God?
He cannot lie.

About Me?
Hold fast to hope.

About the World?
Father, in heaven, may Your kindgom of peace come and come quickly.

2 thoughts on “Day 9 Hebrews 6:13-20

  1. Yes come Lord Jesus come. Waiting is hard,I wasn to turn on Fox News and see change for the good.
    God could work that way. It could happen. But in the mean time I will do it the old fashion way.
    His timing is always perfect so waiting for your glory🌈

    Like

Your thoughts?

