Day 10 Hebrews 7:1-10

“He is first, by translation of his name, king of righteousness, and then he is also king of Salem, that is, king of peace.”

The verse is speaking about Melchizedek but ultimately about Jesus.

Jesus is first the King of Righteousness. The thoughts that come to mind are “holy, right, perfect, pure, all-knowing and worthy of my obedience and worship.”  If I look up righteousness it may not say all that but this morning that is what my heart tells me.  He is God and I am not.  He is other and of a completely different order than I. His ways are, indeed, above my ways and His thoughts vast beyond my thoughts…even the ones He might have given me at some time in the past.

When I see Him in His righteousness I am undone.  Anything I could say is wasted breath because He knows all things, understands all things and all things belong to Him.  I am not in His league and my plans and ideas and well made points are simply gone from my lips.  The striving crumbles gently into dust. I stand in awe but not afraid – just emptied of myself.

He is also King of Salem – King of Peace. Emptied, now peace has room. It seeps into my heart and spreads like a mist until there is no empty space.  It just fills and calms and cleanses. I am reset and now we can begin.

About God?
The Lord is righteous in all his ways, and holy in all his works. Ps 145:17 GNV
About Me?
You are worried over so many things when only one is really needed.
About the World?
“And the effect of righteousness will be peace, and the result of righteousness, quietness and trust forever.” Is 32:17

2 thoughts on “Day 10 Hebrews 7:1-10

  1. I took an unintended break, but I am back! I always forget how “hard” Hebrews is to read and understand. This makes it doubly difficult to tackle at lunch time. However, today I thought that perhaps this break in my work day to dedicate some time to God and his word could perhaps be part of my tithe. My hours at home are either filled with noise, distraction, or exhaustion. (Well, exhaustion might be a bit of an overstatement most of the time, but my early and not so late hours are filled with the distraction of tiredness.) My peak hours Monday through Friday are spent at my desk working…or procrastinating work in some cases. 😉 Instead of checking facebook, reading blogs, or generally zoning out, I give part of my work day to him and his word. Tithing isn’t all about money because we owe God so much more than that.

    About God? He is worthy of way more than 10 percent.

    About the World? We are his hands and feet in this world. How should I give God my time, money, energy, etc. in order to further his kingdom in this world? Following him never leads to isolation from the world. And don’t forget James’ faith without works is dead. Perhaps our work/works here on earth is part of our tithe to God?

    About Me? He is worth so much more than 10 percent, but what does my giving/tithing to him look like in my life? How can I give back to God through my work, my time with my family, and my free time?

    I’m pretty certain I ask more questions instead of giving answers. Oh well.

    Like

    • I know…Hebrews is hard to just jump in. I guess thats why I just look for a verse or word that speaks to me. As for questions, I’m pretty sure that is the best way for God to give answers. I have to say my morning started with a page of confession (not for public consumption) and then a bunch of questions, mostly like “How am I suppose to do xyz if blah, blah, blah doesn’t whatever?” He answered in the blog.
      Nice having you back when you can come ❤

      Like

Your thoughts?

