Day 12 Hebrews 9:1-14

As I read about the “earthly place of holiness”, it struck me how things were made of or covered with gold. I remember seeing a display where a man had reconstructed the temple furniture and everything was gold.  Then I thought about those TV studio sets on some of the religious broadcasting shows – the furniture is trimmed in gold.  I always thought that was such a cheap imitation look even though I knew what they were going for…some kind of a holy setting.

God is the one who instructed the people to use gold. It was meant to signify something of the highest value and purity – precious and dear. It is even shiny and reflects so it mimics the radiance of God’s glory. It was the best man could do with what was available.

But just like the cheap imitation furniture on TV, things made of or covered with gold are a million miles from the holiness and character and likeness of God himself. And the new covenant that Jesus brought into being was a million, gazillion times better than the earthly prototype.

This causes me to wonder, what things in me are just gold-plated?

“Search me God and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts! And see if there be any grievous way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting!”

About God?
God is the genuine article.

About Me?
If there is anything glittering in me, may it be the radience of Jesus.

About the World?
Golden calfs are just wood underneath.

Your thoughts?

