Day 14 Hebrews 10:1-18

“…I will put my laws in their hearts, and write them on their minds, then he adds, I will remember their sins and their lawless deeds no more.”

In their hearts – the center of their being and on their minds – the feelings, will and intellect. This is where God has placed the essence of who I shall become in Him. It is the playbook, the game plan, the direction I am to go and since I am His I carry it within me.  I don’t know if I could go so far as to say this is the Holy Spirit or if this playbook must be acted upon by the Holy Spirit, but I do know it is no longer “other” if it is within.

I feel like the middle of a sandwich – God above pressing down upon me and the Holy Spirit rising up from within. And in this gentle process the transformation of a life takes place.  Maybe when that process is complete and we reign with Jesus in the new heaven and new earth, the Holy Spirit will no longer need to be within us.  (Now, that’s a curious thought. I wonder.)

And he will no longer remember my sins and rebellion.  All will be forgiven and wiped away as if it never happened. For as wonderful and critical as the gift of memory is, it can also be a crushing and shaming device when manipluated by the enemy of my soul. But God, in His ridiculous love and mercy will have no memory of my failures and unbelief.  My prayer is that my own memories will be as He wants them….for my good and for His glory, as Bob is fond of praying. Maybe that is part of the sandwich press of sanctification. 🙂

About God?

God will never be satisfied until His children are living in His full restoration.

About Me?

Give me understanding, that I may keep your law and observe it with my whole heart. Ps. 119:34

About the World?
Forgive and forget is a human impossibility but not a God impossibility.

5 thoughts on “Day 14 Hebrews 10:1-18

  1. He said, “It is finished,” and it was. “For by a single offering he has perfected for all time those who are being sanctified.” It is finished. Everything required for the salvation of the entire world was finished in Christ’s death on the cross. And yet, it was not finished. First of all, Jesus rose again then stayed on earth a little longer. However, as this passage points out, he also sat down at the right hand of God to wait. Because though it may be finished, this story is long from over. Jesus is waiting. God is waiting. I am waiting. We are waiting for his enemies to be made his footstool. We are waiting for the moment when no one on earth can deny his glory and his kingship. I am waiting for moment that I too can join Jesus and be in the presence of God. That time has not come yet. It, our salvation, is finished, but we still have a waiting period. Yet, we can hardly afford to sit back and wait. Why is that? Well, consider the rest of the quote from above. “For by a single offering he has perfected for all time those who are being sanctified.” It’s an interesting mesh of tenses. He perfected us – past tense. However, we are being sanctified – present progressive tense. Present progressive tense is used for an action that is ongoing even as it is being described. We are in the process of being sanctified. This process will not be completed until his enemies are made his footstool. Merriam Webster defines sanctification as the state of growing in divine grace as a result of Christian commitment after baptism or conversion. Waiting is not what is being asked of us. Jesus is waiting. We are growing in divine grace. Can we do that on our own? Absolutely not. There is no sanctification or growth except that which Christ does in us. However, there can be no growth and no sanctification unless we pursue it relentlessly. Pursuit requires action. God requires action while he waits and while Jesus waits. It’s okay to wait for that day, sit and wait. Take action, pursue God, be sanctified.

    About God? He is waiting for us with Jesus at his right hand.

    About the World? It is finished. God’s offer for hope and salvation has been waiting for you since Christ’s death. Taste and see that the Lord is good. He is waiting.

    About Me? It’s okay to wait, but there is no excuse for lolling around in a state of inaction. I have been saved. I am being sanctified. Take action. Pursue God. Pursue growth in grace as he sanctifies me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. By the way, that was supposed to say it is okay to wait for that day, but not to sit and wait. I need an edit option on the comment. 🙂

    Like

Your thoughts?

