Day 18 Hebrews 12:1-17

There are so many phrases in this section that I truly love.  The whole idea of endurance and running the race and finishing well and the reward being JOY, I like all of that.  But true to these last 7 weeks in my training program (did you know Jesus did personal training?) my word was “sin.”

The thought is “do not grow weary or faint-hearted. In your struggle with sin…”

It’s easy to be tired of this struggle.  I really only purposed to regularly prayer on this specific topic until the current Bible study I am attending was over.  I even made this the screen saver on my cell phone: “Lord, reveal go me the areas of my life that contaminate my relationship with you.”   I journaled these prayers and God has been faithful to answer.

My prayer changed when the Coptic Christians were beheaded.  Ann Voskamp had a blog post that included 2 Chron. 7:14 and while I didn’t change my screen saver, that became my prayer.  Not just for me but for the planet.  God impressed upon me there was some connection between me confessing my sins and Him healing our land.  I have no idea how that works but a switch flipped and my personal holiness took on a much bigger proportion.

I have to confess here, I am not faithful to journaling either of these prayers every day but God keeps showing up and poking me about sin.  “Here’s a little something.  Have you thought about this?  Did you give grace there?  Was what you said encouraging?  Love more.”

Apparently they were right when someone said the race was a marathon and not a sprint.  If you have to run I prefer the latter but preference is not a consideration when God loves you.  He has holiness that He wants to share.  It is part of the inheritance package.  I am supposed to “strive for peace with everyone, and for the holiness without which no one will see the Lord.”  I’m going to see Him at the finish line.

So do not grow weary in struggling with sin…endure and keep on enduring.

About God?

God does not give up on us.

About Me?
Tommy:  “I let you down so many times, God.”
God:       “No, my child, you were never holding Me up.  I hold you up with my victorious, righteous right hand, never the other way around.  In this relationship, I hold you up.”
                                                                                                                             From God’s Chisel ~ The Skit Guys

About the World?
Who sits on the throne in your life?

Your thoughts?

