Day 2 Easter Mark 14:17-29

Jesus said to them, “You will all fall away,… But after I am raised up, I will go before you to Galilee.”

Jesus knew he would be betrayed.  He knew about Judas; he knew Judas didn’t believe; he knew Judas would sell him out.  That was enough to deal with in the betrayal department but I can almost distance myself from the hurt.  After all, we all know Judas was lost, right?

But then there is that tiny word “all”…you will all fall away.  That’s a bit closer – even the other eleven disciples will betray him.  Oh. They were afraid and didn’t really understand all that was going on and it all happened so fast.  I know it hurt Jesus but he knew it would be confusing for them.  Even Peter who thought he could be braver than the others…poor Peter.  But really, no one had ever conceived this Jesus story, so I guess I should cut them some slack.  And, of course, Jesus – he knew they would need help.

And though they would all betray him, he still said, “But after I am raised up, I will go before you to Galilee.” He never betrayed them.  He never stopped being their friend or loving them. Even though they were betrayers he knew he would be meeting them in Galilee.

I can’t help but keep seeing the “you” will fall away and knowing in my heart it’s talking about me.  I have little if any excuse.  I know the whole story; I’m not confused or rushed or under eminent threat.  I just sometimes fall away.  I am a betrayer too.  Yet still He knows and He goes on ahead, ready to meet me…ready to dust me off and begin again.

I have no words.

Your thoughts?

