Day 3 Easter Mark 14:27-31

[Peter] said emphatically, “If I must die with you, I will not deny you.” And they all said the same.

And we all say the same, too, as if our purposed, loyalty will save us. We think we are just that strong.  And while we might excuse ourselves in a weak moment or on a hard day, for the most part we really do think we are the center of our strength.

Here’s a clue that addresses reality.  When Jesus was in the garden right before he was arrested, he was praying – not for his sheep or some other selfless purpose – he was praying for himself.  This was Jesus, God wrapped in flesh and humanity, asking His heavenly Father to save him from the task before him.  “’Take this cup from me’ if you can; if there is any other way.”  Because in this moment Jesus knew he was unable to just speak brave words or make oaths of commitment that would matter.  He knew in his flesh and blood body he was weak and would run if he did not depend on His father.

So He did what I should also do when faced with the rising bravado in my thoughts – He confessed his own weakness and leaned on and into the strength of God…”not my will, but thine be done.”

And He has said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.  2 Corinthians 12:9

Your thoughts?

