Day 6 Easter Mark 14:53-65

“But he remained silent…”

There is a lot of writing this morning about Jesus knowing when to speak and when to be quiet; about meekness not being weakness and how He just didn’t get sucked in to defend himself.

But then there is the part where He did speak.  He answered a question.  However it is a bit inaccurate to say that was why he spoke because he had been asked two questions before that and on those he was silent.  The difference to me was of defending himself against trumped up accusations verses giving a straightforward report.

I really was struck by what Lynne Burkholder posted:

Meekness understands the difference of when to remain silent and when to speak.
Meekness learns to remain on the offense while refusing to be pulled to the defense.
Meekness is understanding who you are and knowing when and where to declare it.
Meekness is facing accusations, facing lies, and death and continuing on the path you know to be true.
Meekness is knowing the truth and letting that provide you strength when others have a wrong opinion of you.
Meekness is knowing your purpose and keeping with it despite the lack of support.

The big question – to speak or be silent – keeps running through my brain this morning like a repeating digital marque.  I’ve been hurt – certainly it is unintentional – but I feel discounted and marginalized. And worse I feel ashamed for having these feelings.

And maybe that is why I try to speak not about myself but about what these actions, if repeated, would do to someone else in my position.  The listeners don’t get it.  They don’t see the problem.  They think I am being ridiculous and unreasonable and not a team player.  And for the first time ever I seriously just don’t want to even be a part of this team anymore.

Lynne’s statements are clarifying for me.  They identify the fulcrum of meekness that lies between the opposing actions of speaking or silence. So today I will prayerfully ask for meekness in my situation and if it becomes words…  I will know the meekness of Jesus has settled within me when the message, prompted by hurt, can be delivered in healing.

3 thoughts on “Day 6 Easter Mark 14:53-65

  1. I think that the unintentional slights can be some of the hardest to bear. I think it is due to the sense of apathy, real or imagined, from the injuring party that I often feel after the slight.Then comes the great debate which follows in my head. Do I force the issue? Will they even get what I am trying to say? Should I just let it go? (P.S. I am not very good at that. I fail to let go then just stew in my head. This is counterproductive.) I have no idea what the situation is, but I am praying for you. This passage and your response makes me think of Ephesians 4:15, where it says “speaking the truth in love.” The entire passage calls us to seek unity in the body of Christ through humility, gentleness, and patience. (Let’s just say these are not my A+ subjects so I am probably not the best person to even broach this, but nonetheless…) In this passage, Jesus opts to stay silent in the face of a hurtful verbal assault. Anything Jesus said would have been truth so why was he silent? He was patient. He waited for the right question and time. He was humble. Defensiveness and humility are not things that go well together. And when he did respond, he spoke the truth – plainly and simply. Failing to speak truth when called is not an option either. It’s a balance. That is what I am praying for you. Whatever your response to this, I pray that you speak the truth in love. I also pray that the ears of those around you would be receptive to you. And if you choose not to speak, then remember it is not necessarily because what you have to say is not truth. You may just be following Jesus’ lead by waiting patiently for the right time and place for that truth to be conveyed with humility, gentleness, and love.

    Like

Your thoughts?

