Day 13 Easter Mark 16:9-20

he appeared to the eleven themselves as they were reclining at table, and he rebuked them for their unbelief and hardness of heart, because they had not believed those who saw him after he had risen

Believing is hard. It’s hard to do and even more difficult to explain. Even when the audience should be the best prepared and most agreeable to the news, believing doesn’t come easily. Jericho has nothing on the walls of self-protection we live behind. Some things are just too good to be true and we will not be suckered – not again.

Believing the good news is the ultimate risk and if you think you can draw me in with a promise of joy…well, sista, I wasn’t born yesterday. Our hearts are not just hardened they are steel.

How then will God get in? He appears. He appeared to Mary Magdalene; he appears to the two travelers; he appeared to the eleven. Nobody wanted to believe just because someone else told them. I think of Thomas being labeled as the doubter when he was actually just like everyone else. He needed to see for himself.

To “taste and see that the Lord is good” is a personal experience. I can tell you about the creamy center but you are probably going to have to bite into that Whitman’s sample for yourself.

God knows this about humans.

Of course we who believe are supposed to tell – “Go into all the world and proclaim the gospel to the whole creation…” is what Jesus said. That’s our part, we tell.

Everything else is God’s part.

And they went out and preached everywhere, while the Lord worked with them and confirmed the message by accompanying signs.

2 thoughts on “Day 13 Easter Mark 16:9-20

  1. I have no doubt that I would have received rebuke right along with the disciples for my unbelief. The thing I find interesting is that no one in this story believed purely based upon the testimony of others. Jesus appeared to Mary Magdalene. If she had merely heard the report second hand, would she have believed? The two men on the side of the road saw Jesus and believed. But if they instead learned through an eyewitness account, I bet they would be left doubting as well. Yet, somehow, when the disciples went into all the world, relayed their eyewitness account, and spread the good news, people believed.

    The difference, I think, is found in the final sentence. The accompanying signs probably did not hurt, but, most importantly, he worked with them and confirmed their message. During those first few eye witness accounts, Jesus walked the earth still. He did not appear with Mary or the two men when they told of his resurrection. He did not work with these witnesses in relaying their news and unbelief ensued. Yet, after Jesus appeared to the disciples he ascended into heaven. The physical presence of Jesus was replaced by his omnipresence. Jesus was with the disciples as they preached. And while he was with them, he chose to work with them and to confirm their message.

    Do I think that God was any less omnipresent when Jesus walked the earth? Of course not. Do I question whether God could have worked with those eyewitnesses to confirm the truth of their statements? No. Do I question if he was working with them? Yes, but I’ll have to hold onto that question until I see Jesus myself. In the meantime, Regardless, I think there is some truth which can be gleaned by raising the question.

    My words about Christ, whether verbal or written, will fall on deaf ears if he is not working with me and confirming the message. There is no room for selfish ambition or vain conceit in sharing the good news of God. I do not need to waste my time or breath if I am only pushing my own agenda or message. He will work alongside me when I share his. Another good reason to think twice and speak once, or perhaps pray twice and speak once.

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

