Day 2 – 1 Peter 1:13-21*

*Disclaimer: The entries to this blog feel like they are getting pretty personal and you may see the dark side of my struggles. If you don’t want to go there please feel free to skip today’s post.

Therefore, preparing your minds for action, and being sober-minded, set your hope fully on the grace that will be brought to you at the revelation of Jesus Christ.

I was just about to bring up the IF:Equip page this morning when the phone rang.  I didn’t realize then but it was the sound of the other shoe dropping.  ‘My son’s Primary Care Physician (PCP) has left the practice and tomorrow’s appointment is cancelled.’

A little on-the-short-notice side but that wasn’t the big issue.  I was counting on this guy.  Not 2 weeks before said son’s Pain Management doctor sent a notice he was going too.  I’ve tried to reach the PM guy for the very purpose of knowing how to transition meds and specialized care to someone else – no return calls.  The last visit with him is scheduled for the day after the PCP’s visit.

For two weeks I’ve resisted panic, trusting that God would work it all out in spite of my concerns and knowledge of the state of the health care system.  My hope was set on his PCP, his very competent referral person and my ability to communicate the immediate nature of my son’s needs.

So, I can hardly believe what has happened or the lead verse this morning.  It is like marching orders:

Prepare your mind for action. – You’ve got a brain and you going to have to use it. Gather your resources, make the phone calls, be the squeaky wheel until further notice. Time is short at this point. Do not be distracted.”

However, set your hope on the grace that will be brought to you when Jesus reveals Himself in this. Don’t hope in these people or your abilities. Put your hope in Jesus showing up. Put your hope in Him having a plan. Put the full weight of your hope on the grace He will be bringing.”

“God, I don’t know if I can do this. Of course I will try. I will fight like a momma bear for my 45 year old cub but I don’t’ know if my efforts will matter. I could list a thousand reasons and obstacles I fear…

Oh! That’s putting my hope in me, isn’t it?

I am terrified and You say something about greasing the way with grace? How exactly does that work? You realize this is my son’s life – not mine, right? You get to do this kinda stuff with me but he didn’t sign up for these crazy faith exercises. He is counting on me. I am who he has on his side…”

“Yes – and I AM who you have on your side.”

4 thoughts on “Day 2 – 1 Peter 1:13-21*

  1. You are on his side, but God is in control. Just because the cub didn’t sign on for faith lessons doesn’t mean God it not putting them in front of him. God IS on his side! Yes, as Mama Bears we want to make it all okay and work out for our cubs and we do just about anything for them. BUT we are not God and He has his own plan. God can use us or He can use someone/something else. When we think we are all someone has to look to aren’t we trying to put ourselves in God’s place or at least on equal footing? Not a good idea – idols get busted and broken! These faith lessons might be for you too, control is an issue some of us in the family struggle with. Sometimes God has to put us in our place about who is really in control. So yes, you need to do all your due deligence to get the cub the medical help he needs and it’s a trial in and of itself but utlimately we have to rely on God to work out the details in His way. His ways are not ours – think I’ve read that somewhere ;-). We can be his hands and feet but the glory is not ours to claim. We want people (cubs included) to see God, not us (not even in the short term). All that being said you all are in my prayers, wish there was some way I can help from here but I figure God’s plan for me in this situation at this point is to pray…for you, the cub, the situation,the doctors and for God to be glorified. Call if you need me. Love ya! HUGS!

    Like

    • Thanks for the prayers. Glad to have you in the arena. I didn’t know you read this thing. Anyway, doing e ne me ne miney moe on calling some pcp’s right now…all names in a book but God’s supposed to have greased the hinges…standing on that promise!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well said Beth , maybe it’s regrouping
    Time for the cub . May have to cut back on some of the meds, or new Dr
    To have a different idea. Just not sure
    What is going on. But God does maybe this is another thing for you to cut
    Back on?? Will be praying 🌈

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Philippians 4:6-7 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

    This is the verse that came to mind as soon as I read your post. Don’t be anxious, pray, and be thankful. In the midst of the mess, the second can be relatively easy. However, the third seems silly and the first seems impossible. I have no doubt you are praying as are those around you, including me, so I think we can breeze past that one. Be thankful when it involves starting over and the U.S. healthcare system? That is a difficult one, but it is doable. Be thankful for the comprehensive care provided by these two physicians. Be thankful for the improvements you have seen in your son and his health under those physicians. Be thankful that you have the option to change providers if the first “new” physician you choose is not the right fit. Be thankful for the opportunity to seek a fresh perspective on his condition and care, which could yield even more positive results.

    Now for the really tough one. Do not be anxious. Funny how that part comes with no promises that everything will be perfect; yet, it still says to not be anxious. It’s not going to be perfect. No transition is seamless. The new doctor(s) may take some getting used to, need to be “broken in” and caught up, require travelling further, etc. But the peace of God is there to guard your heart and mind in the midst of the mess. He is with you in the mess and he will lead you through it. Peace is waiting if you can do the seemingly impossible and avoid being anxious.

    I hope this is encouraging and does not sound as preachy as I think it does after reading back over what I wrote. Encouraging was my intention. 🙂 Remember, we are praying for you and you are loved, by us and by God.

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

