Day 8 – 1 Peter 4:1-11

Christ suffered in the flesh, arm yourselves with the same way of thinking…

People, “all this following Christ” is going to be a battle.  Every day you are going to be challenged to live for the will of God or live for the flesh.  Peter is apt to point out two arenas where the battle will rage.

Out there –

The scattered church was just that, scattered, – taken out of their seemingly safe enclave of friendly neighborhoods and shot gunned all over Turkey.  They are living among the gentiles who have no inclination to follow God.

How do you keep on track in such places? Think like Jesus.   The world around you is going to set one example and it is going to be surprised when you don’t join them.  That surprise is not benign but will lead to them to make fun of you, malign you and maybe hate your guts.  Remember your calling to live in the spirit.  I love Jen Hatmaker:

“People may hate us because of Jesus, but let’s never give them a reason to hate Jesus because of us.”

In here –

Oh you thought inside was safe? Ha!

Here is how to live in the family – within the community of believers: self-controlled, sober-minded – above all, loving one another earnestly, use your gifts to build each other up.  I’m sorry, but this can be more of a battle than avoiding the gentiles. The answer is the same – arm yourselves for this work too.

It is not our nature to welcome suffering.  Not having one’s own way, not being the center of attention, not seeing beyond one’s own hurt feelings – this is suffering too.  This is laying down one’s life too.

Remember – the end of all things is at hand.  Time is short here, eternity awaits, all struggling and suffering will cease.  But for now, think like Jesus:

…in order that in everything God may be glorified through Jesus Christ (and through me). To him belong glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.

6 thoughts on “Day 8 – 1 Peter 4:1-11

  1. Well the end is near great . Be of sober mind, for me that means eating drinking making merry . So how can I do this? For sure not I’m the flesh. I need to be filled w/ the spirit ..also I need to be kind leave the neg- behind give mercy not judgement . Lord help me I am so self centered want my way. I want to give that up so help me do that for your glory, But I need to see it in my selfie . Here goes🌈

    Like

  2. You stole my Jen Hatmaker quote from my comment on your April17th post. Thief! 🙂 It is a great one.

    ****

    “Above all, keep loving one another earnestly, since love covers a multitude of sins.”

    All we need is love. It allows us to forgive and to be forgiven. It bridges divides. In a sin filled world, messy only begins to describe human relationships. Love is the only chance that we have. We need to extend love it just as we need others to extend it to us. The news and social media inundates us with issues that divide us, yet our response to those who are different, who disagree with us, who are angry, who are hurt, etc. is the same. We are called to love.

    And why are we called to love? “In order that in everything God may be glorified through Jesus Christ.”

    Like

    • I did steal your quote…is was so good.
      I told it again tonight at my Bible study…it has stuck with me. Thanks for being the first to share. 🙂
      “All we need is love” do we have to credit George or John for that one? ♡

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I read the beginning of your sentence ,”How to live in the family…” and went a total different direction. Sometimes I think it’s easier to love in the family of Christ followers or even in the world – show love, compassion and give forgiveness than it is in our own “earth families”. As christians we need to not be so busy being Christ to the world that we forget that we also need to be Christ to our own families. I know sometimes I catch myself being just that way. We love our family but sometimes we don’t “love them earnestly and use our gifts to build them up.” We feel safe with them and think we should be able to “be ourselves” which can often not be pretty or Christ like. Or we feel like we have the “right” to judge and try to enforce the way we think things should be. Love, compassion, forgiveness all things we need to practice in every area of our lives.

    Seems like I’m just rambling here, probably not well stated but there it is anyway.

    Like

    • Definitely well said and can I say, close to home? Reading and responding to the Scripture by writing has really pressed down hard on just how and where these things are to be practiced for me too. I am regularly called to remove the old and outdated Mom hat which sometimes I think is glued on. It’s humbling but freeing at the same time. Just like in my rant last week – I am reminded over and over…mine is to love…God’s is to do everything else. I don’t get to crowd in on “their” relationship. Guess you hit a nerve…thanks for the reminder.

      Like

Your thoughts?

