Day 9 – 1 Peter 4:12-19

beloved, do not be surprised at the fiery trial when it comes upon you to test you, as though something strange were happening to you. But rejoice insofar as you share Christ’s sufferings, that you may also rejoice and be glad when his glory is revealed.

Paul said he longed to share the sufferings of Christ – me, not so much.  Too honest? Sorry.

But Peter says, “don’t be surprised.”  I mean we live in a broken down dilapidated house of a world and suffering rains down like chunks of plaster from the ceiling. It is all we can do to duck and weave and bob.  Christian or not, no one escapes.

Fiery trials are to test you.  (And no, actually thank God, there is not a #optout because I would take it.)  I recall mentioning God has a purpose in suffering.  Trials are meant to purify and strengthen us.

For you, O God, have tested us; you have tried us as silver is tried.
…we went through fire and through water;
yet you have brought us out to a place of abundance
Psalm 66

And there is to be rejoicing – I know it’s the long view and maybe not easy to see now.  Maybe we are still in the first 6 laps around Jericho but there will be a 7th lap.  He will bring us through and out and rejoicing when His glory is revealed.

Lord, I am counting on you revealing your glory and until you do, in each individual situation, help me to keep believing.

2 thoughts on “Day 9 – 1 Peter 4:12-19

  1. Are you still “swimming laps” in your bathroom? It’s what came to my mind in reading your blog today. Sometimes trials are more watery than fiery it seems. All in all, I have to agree with you, I’d rather avoid them all together, but then I wouldn’t be strengthened through each one. Rejoicing through – is that kind of like singing in the shower? Water washes away all the dirt and grime on the outside and Jesus washes away the stuff on the inside often with a refining fire. When we get out we are not only clean but renewed and refreshed. Now personally I love a long hot shower – as long as it’s the watery kind, but those hot fiery ones are often hard to bare. What often gets me through it the knowledge that He’s with me, He wants me to stand fast and succeed. He wants me to pass the test – there are no trick questions! So in that I can rejoice even though I can’t actually rejoice in the actual event. In the end I come out clean and refreshed, and in theory, ready for the next one. Well maybe not ready but willing and able to rejoice a little more each time.

    Pray for Margie, she is pretty numb today, just getting through the funeral stuff. Seems that she’s not only going to have to deal with losing Frank after 51 years of marriage but because of a stroke she had 4 years ago she will probably “lose” her home as well since she won’t be physically able to stay there on her own. I think Marie, leaves everything up to her sisters and just supports them in their decisions. Frank Jr, evidently has a TBI from his military service. Talking to he yesterday was like talking to Bruce – same cadence of speech, slow thought process, and he uses a cane. Voice even almost sounded the exact same. It was kinda weird.

    Fiery trials, ha! Ours often don’t even begin to compare to others. Rejoice in the Lord ALWAYS, again I say REJOICE!

    Like

Your thoughts?

