Day 14 – 2 Peter 3:1-13

…we are waiting for new heavens and a new earth in which righteousness dwells

I can say without a doubt, I am looking forward to living where righteousness dwells.

Living on planet earth seems to become a more “unrighteousness” place every day.  Our decades and centuries of sin are piled so high and stacked so deep there is no way to undo the hurt and hatred and injustice except a complete “do over”.  That is exactly what God is promising us.

Still He lingers.  He lingers because of the truth we hardly want to visualize – some will perish.  He can hardly stand the thought.  Neither can I.

So, today, I have a renewed commitment to pray.

May 7, 2015 is the National Day of Prayer.  The theme could not be more compelling: “Lord, Hear Our Cry”.    Actually today is the National Day of Repentance.  It marks the 152nd anniversary of Lincoln’s Day of ‘Humiliation, Prayer and Fasting’.

The last time I saw or heard that our leaders really stopped to beg for God’s mercy was right after September 11.  There were no party-lines then; no concern that someone might be offended.

Today, the team behind Australia’s National Day of Prayer has called for the world to Pray and Fast for 7 days for the USA  (April 30-May 6). Humbled that another country is asking the world to pray for us?  Indeed I am. But more than humbled, I am convicted of how “off and on” my prayer is – for my nation or for my people.

Father, forgive me. Forgive me for resting in the security of my place in the Kingdom and not standing in the gap for those for whom You are lingering. Forgive me and forgive us as a nation for coming to You only in desperate times and not honoring You with praise and honor solely because You are worthy. Lord, in your great mercy, make a way for righteousness on earth as it is in heaven. Give us today, our daily bread – our sustenance for today – salvation, a job, a healthcare need, a lawn service, safety for a parent, grace for a friend. Father because You have said you will care for us, I ask these things in the name of Jesus. Amen

2 thoughts on “Day 14 – 2 Peter 3:1-13

  1. In follow up to our comments on the day before’s scripture, “[t]he Lord is not slow to fulfill his promise as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing that any should perish.” Amen.

    Now, about prayer, I have a confession to make. Prayer is not my strong point. Please do not get me wrong. There are times I pray when my thoughts flow like raging river out of my heart and mind and straight to God’s ear. I also do just fine coming up with something to say with the buddies for bedtime prayers or even leading prayer in groups. However, typically, I get a sentence or two or three in then I am asleep, distracted, or just out of words. It always seemed wrong to just make a list of nouns and call it prayer. Sometimes I use this as an excuse to not bother. But God hears our prayers, whether they are one word or many, and that makes them powerful.

    Thanks for the reminder that prayer matters. I too will take on the renewed challenge to pray. It may be a word here, a sentence there, or an occasional jotted down thought. It may be a raging river in a quiet moment. It may be sentences that trail off into sleep. When it comes to prayer, we are all about function over form because the power of prayer comes not when you say them, but because God hears them.

    Like

Your thoughts?

