Day 15 – 2 Peter 3:14-18

Therefore, beloved, since you are waiting for these, be diligent to be found by him without spot or blemish, and at peace.

grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be the glory both now and to the day of eternity. Amen.

“…be found…at peace.”  That is really what I long for. Certainly for the world, for Baltimore, for parents opting their children out, for seekers of equality on every front and for all those striving to change things for the better – in their struggles I wish them peace.

One would think peace might be a reward of retirement.  You know, when you step away from the daily responsibilities of one’s 9-5, and you get to not be concerned about the details because there are those left behind who will carry on.

That is until you visit.  Someone you know lets you in but everyone else has a security clearance; the free coffee meant to offer hospitality is now a vending machine and no one lingers; organic elbow-rubbing and iron sharpening has proudly been phased out in favor of efficient and repeatable processed packaging.  While your heart breaks – your peace goes out the window.  In fact my reaction is to want to throw something through the window!

This happened to me yesterday.  Unexpectedly I was called to visit.  I have worked hard to extricate myself from the old job.  I know the venture is changing.  I retired because I could not “peacefully” contribute at that level.  I guess I’m having a very difficult time extricating myself from the dream.  I am always surprised when it’s missing. (There’s a lot I could learn from Bob on how to do this.)

I think Peter might be saying, since you’re waiting for these (the day of God, the new heaven and new earth where righteousness dwells), retirement is not an option.  Diligence is a working word and my job description includes tending to peace within my own soul.  I’m thinking the textbook on learning this is found in grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be the glory both now and to the day of eternity. Amen.

“Lord, thank you that yesterday I did not have a rock handy – that was your grace. Thank you that my husband is a gracious listener… even to angry words. Thank you that You have given me meaningful work even though it may now look differently from before. Today, teach me about having peace within and how that will bring You glory. Amen”

3 thoughts on “Day 15 – 2 Peter 3:14-18

  1. Therefore, beloved, since you are waiting for these, be diligent to be found by him without spot or blemish, and at peace…take care that you are not carried away with the error of lawless people and lose your own stability. But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.”

    Waiting is not my forte as I get bored very easily. I forced myself to wait at my last doctor’s appointment without fiddling with my phone or reading anything. I thought I would lose my mind! Keeping busy is second nature these days, in which there is always dishes, laundry, picking up, etc. at home and more than enough to do at work. The few moments of rest or waiting of which I do take advantage are filled with “wireless” experiences, whether it’s reading blogs or checking facebook. There is nothing wrong with doing either of these things, but filling every blank space in your life with those activities is not healthy either.

    I am called, while we wait, to be found by him without spot or blemish and at peace while growing in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I am probably not living up to that calling so well these days. But, today is a new day as is tomorrow and the next so, until he comes, I have an opportunity to work on that. First, I need to somehow find margin in my life. Without margin, how can you be at peace? I cannot realistically ignore my housework or work work, but I can choose to prioritize then find moments which serve as blank space. Then, I need to use some of that blank space to grow in the grace and knowledge of Jesus.

    By finding time every few days to not just read, but to respond on your blog, whether at work or at home, I am finding space. Reading the scripture and what others have to say about it helps me grow. However, crafting my own response to it takes my growth and knowledge to the next level. I think that is what we call success! Time to keep it up by identifying more opportunities for blank space so I can experience peace and growth all while awaiting Christ’s return.

    Like

Your thoughts?

