Day 3 Sermon on the Mount – Matthew 5:7-12

 “Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy.”

Sometimes the Lord is quick to answer prayer – as in the very next day
.
Dictionary.com says this of Mercy: “compassionate treatment of or attitude towards an offender, adversary, etc., who is in one’s power or care; clemency; pity.”

“Here,” says Jesus to my heart. “Here is a way to give up one’s power – practice mercy. Didn’t I say, ‘For this reason the Father loves me, because I lay down my life…No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord’? So can you.”

The merciful, says Erasmus, are those “who, through brotherly love, account another person’s misery their own; who weep over the calamities of others; who, out of their own property, feed the hungry and clothe the naked; who admonish those that are in error, inform the ignorant, pardon the offending; and who, in short, use their utmost endeavours to relieve and comfort others.” Benson Commentary

“Mercy may be practised by many means; “not by money alone,” says Euthy. Zig., “but by word, and if you have nothing, by tears”. Expositor’s Greek Testament

http://biblehub.com/commentaries/matthew/5-7.htm

2 thoughts on “Day 3 Sermon on the Mount – Matthew 5:7-12

  1. “Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy.” Matthew 5:7

    “He has shown you, O mortal, what is good. And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.” Micah 6:8

    I do not know a lot about the context of this verse in Micah, but I do not think that it is inaccurate when it stands alone. Justice, mercy, and humility. Those are not bad guidelines by which to live your life. Everyone knows the two greatest commandments. I think these three guidelines provide quite a bit of insight on how to follow the second one.

    Mercy is not pity. It does not require you to have a position of authority over the person to whom you offer mercy. I think people often think that one or both of those is true. “Mercy may be practised by many means; not by money alone,” says Euthy. Zig., “but by word, and if you have nothing, by tears.” (I LOVE THIS!)

    Seek righteousness. Act justly, love (and practice) mercy, and walk humbly with my God. I get the feeling there will be nothing easy coming out of this study. Let’s just say I have a lot of work to do. But then again, “small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life.” Matthew 7:14

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for looking all that up
    Mercy is what I want to receive
    So I need to give that. I was angry
    Tuesday w/Jack Just trying to
    Be kind and satin is on my back
    Lord have MERCY ON ME
    Help me live your truth amen🌈

    Like

Your thoughts?

