Day 12 Sermon on the Mount – Matthew 6:19-24

For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

You don’t have to have been around Christianity very long before you become aware that to put one’s faith in God is a call to relinquish faith in anything else.  It all sounds good – until you try it on for size.

Frankly money is the answer to almost every immediate problem in the world.  I don’t care too much about holding on to it.  I’m ready to spend in a heartbeat if it will get me or anyone I know out of whatever need or situation is bearing down upon us.  Truly it is my first line of defense if that is all it takes.

The thing about money is I do not have enough for the big things.  $1000/month for Bruce’s medications if a pain doctor cannot be found to help; to pay all of someone’s bills every month because they can’t get a job; to care for a young widow and 3 children while they recovery from a father’s untimely death – just don’t have it.  No way to get it. I’m too old to rob banks.

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth…”

Literally, this says, “Do not treasure your treasures”.  It makes a twist in my former understanding.  Don’t treasure your money.  Spend your money if it will help.  Use your money for whatever it will cover but don’t look at it as your salvation.

Then there are the things money won’t fix.  No amount staves off aging, dementia, a stroke, a broken heart, loss, unexpected death, grief.  It’s dark.

I’ve never quite understood this verse in between the two segments about treasure until now.

“The eye is the lamp of the body. So, if your eye is healthy, your whole body will be full of light, but if your eye is bad, your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light in you is darkness, how great is the darkness!

It occurs to me that I have had this experience.  You can be full of light or full of darkness.  This can be directly related to where you look (with your eye).   In those times when I knew that I knew money would not help.  When I found I had inadvertently placed my security on income. When without the promises of God I would have been without hope – my eyes were forced to look to Him.  In those darkest of times, my body was flooded with Light.  It was not reasonable to expect such comfort or peace or hope but it was, in fact, a flood that brought all of these.

I’ve never since been able to think about money/treasure quite the same.

Earthly treasures are His gifts.  I use them.  But more and more He reminds me He wants my eye on Him.  He is the treasure on which to gaze.

Your thoughts?

