DAY 2 BEATITUDES – JAMES 4:6-10 & 1 PETER 5:5-11

2

BLESSED ARE THE POOR IN SPIRIT

 Humble yourselves before the Lord, and He will exalt you. James 4:10

 Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you 1 Peter 5:6

Humility toward God is the crux of being Poor in Spirit.  These passages indicate that humility is, in fact, the gateway to grace.

The promise of empowering grace in those hard and difficult situations has always been for me the motivation to choose humility.  When I have screwed up royally or just created a conflict from a misunderstanding, my first reaction leans heavily toward self-justification and a good defense.  This approach, even if justified, may look like I have saved face but my gut knows it is a long term mistake to rely on such shaky ground.

This is not to say I don’t rant and rave in private circles.  I do that.  I complain at full force to God too.  But before I respond openly, I yield the situation to the Lord for His guidance.  Sometimes the words He gives me are hard to say.  I may feel foolish or fearful to face my accuser. But, I do not want to be alone on the battlefield which is exactly what you chose when all you have going for you is your own wits and power.  Moreover, self-sufficiency opens the door to the Enemy.  It is no accident that in both passages the call to humility is followed immediately by the command to “resist the devil”. He is just waiting for someone to devour.

There is always the possibility of suffering.  We fear it like the plaque.  Not pleasant, I know.  Still I am never alone even in suffering.  Indeed, God promises to restore, confirm, strengthen and establish me. I am to cast those cares upon Him, because He cares (takes care and loves) me.

Your thoughts?

