DAY 7 BEATITUDES – PSALM 32 & 2 COR. 7:9-11

7BLESSED ARE THOSE WHO MOURN

I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the Lord,” and you forgave the iniquity of my sin. Selah PS 32

It is extremely uncomfortable to be at odds with God – that’s my personal experience. I know what it is to have his hand heavy upon me.  To the exact opposite extreme is the recognition that when I confess, I have been forgiven.  More than just forgiven – restored, and surrounded by His love and protection.

For godly grief produces a repentance that leads to salvation without regret, whereas worldly grief produces death. 2 Cor. 7

Grief is the same except for the modifiers. The NASV says sorrow. Is it Godly grief or worldly grief?  The word for grief used here is different than the one for “mourn” in the beatitude.  It means distress or vexation; physical or emotional pain.

Since this kind of distress (more than discomfort) comes in two distinction flavors, it is important to determine from whence the pain comes.

First, it would be nice to discount such vexation and say “oh God never allows this so it’s not from him” but clearly He does, not only allow, but has a particular purpose for it.  Nice try!

Secondly, the worldly kind has an outcome of death.  Not the end result most appealing so it makes source detection all the more important.

I can tell you that when in this kind of pain, my judgement is not too reliable.  The only viable solution is to take this to the Lord.  He is ever willing to sort it out.

If it is found to be a sorrow God is choosing to use, He will offer restoration through repentance.  He will remove my sin as far as the east is from the west and there will be no regret – the slate is completely clean.

Worldly sorrow – that’s tricky.  I’ll have to think what that implies.  Definitely there is sorrow from not getting my way or lusting for something I know I can’t entertain.  Maybe it is like pouting and stomping my feet and acting all broken-hearted and pitiful, hoping I can fool my Father God into giving in.  So glad He is not a pushover.  He can see right through my angst and knows the danger that lurks in my demands.  I think He will gladly hold me close and remind me:

I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go;I will counsel you with my eye upon you.Be not like a horse or a mule, without understanding, which must be curbed with bit and bridle,or it will not stay near you.Many are the sorrows of the wicked, but steadfast love surrounds the one who trusts in the Lord.
PS 32

Your thoughts?

