DAY 18 BEATITUDES – JOHN 6:22-51

18…FOR THEY SHALL BE SATISFIED.

“What must we do, to be doing the works of God?” Jesus answered them, “This is the work of God, that you believe in him whom he has sent.”

I am the living bread that came down from heaven. If anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever. And the bread that I will give for the life of the world is my flesh.”

The desire to be extraordinary for God can be the very thing that keeps us from ever being satisfied with God.

That’s a defeatist thing to say, right? Aren’t we supposed to dream big and expect God to make the impossible happen and all that for his glory?  Well, yes…..and no.

There is that little matter of first things first.  Remember the parable that ended with Jesus saying, “If you are faithful in little things, you will be faithful in large ones.” Luke 16:10. Our tendency is to want to reverse the order.  Give us the big things to do for you God.  We’re ready…right out of the starting gate.

But first, our zeal must be tested; our metal tried.

This is what strikes me in how the crowd wants to relate to Jesus – “What must we do, to be doing the works of God?” Give us a list to accomplish that will demonstrate how grateful you will be to have us.  Jesus says, “This is the work of God, that you believe in him whom he has sent.”

Me:  Oh…..yeah… “believing”.  That’s the easy thing. Like every day and in everything, right? No problem. Got that checked.

Jesus: Really?

5 thoughts on “DAY 18 BEATITUDES – JOHN 6:22-51

  1. You do not come looking for me. You do not want me. You want more bread to eat. Zing. Ouch. Way to call everyone out in public, Jesus. Then again, how often do I seek God so he can supply all my needs and not because I am seeking who he is? More often than I care to admit, thank you very much. Zing. Ouch.

    Even after that initial blow, the crowd still does not get the point. They start asking for a sign. (How much more of a sign could they want then having the Son of God standing right in front of them?!?!) Now they are seeking a sign instead of seeking him. Once again, I can see myself in that crowd. How often do I just wish I had some sort of tangible indication that he is there and listening in the midst of my crisis? Zing. Ouch. Hold your fire, please!

    I’m in with the in crowd, but it is not a place that I want to be. The in crowd is hungering and thirsting for things to meet their physical needs and for signs, not righteousness. And did you see the result? Grumbling. That is a far cry from satisfaction. If I want out of the in crowd, I need to reassess what motivates me to seek God. If I am not hungering and thirsting for God, who IS righteous and through whom I can be made righteous, then I will not be satisfied. Period. End of story.

    I’m certain this is one of those easier said than done sorts of things. It is so much easier to pray when you are dumping your problems on Him and begging for help, whether on your own behalf or on the behalf of others.

    Philippians 3:10 “I want to know Christ–yes, to know the power of his resurrection and participation in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death.”

    May that be my prayer. I want to know God. I want to know his righteousness. I want be made righteous. May I never stop pursuing that despite the fact that I will always be a work in progress.

    Sidebar – Do you notice the word choice in Matthew 5:6? Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness. He compares the desire for righteousness to hunger and thirst. We require food and water to live. The comparison seems appropriate since we require righteousness to live forever with Him. (This may have come up earlier in the week, but I’m a day late and a dollar short.)

    Like

      • Sorry it was hard. Today I had blessing from God. Amex called to ask if the thousands of dollars charged all over the world yesterday on my card were my doing. I guess its not impossible to be in Virginia, Chicago, Japan & Argentina all in the same day but they thought they’d ask. Wasn’t me so tomorrow I get a new card via fedex. Grateful they were watching.

        Like

Your thoughts?

