DAY 20 BEATITUDES – MATTHEW 5:6

20

“BLESSED ARE THOSE WHO HUNGER AND THIRST FOR RIGHTEOUSNESS, FOR THEY SHALL BE SATISFIED.”

To hunger and thirst is to want – need something. To the extreme one might think death is the only outcome if the need is not met. The picture of the man on his belly, crawling across a desert toward a mirage of an oasis comes to mind. “Water! I’m dying of thirst.” I’ve seen the movie – never really been there.

I’ve never been hungry either, not really. I’ve had that slightly uncomfortable feeling I call hunger. My stomach may growl but not real hunger. I’ve certainly not had the other feelings that come with not knowing where you will find food for your next meal or maybe your only meal. I say “I’m starving.” but one look will tell you I am not going to fade away from lack of food for a very long time.

So, I would have to say my experience and understanding of true hunger and thirst is shallow at best. And sadly this level of comprehension is all I can bring to the table (no pun intended) in trying to really comprehend H&T with regards to Righteousness.

I feel a little guilty I’m not more emotionally in touch but when you think about it, being too hungry or thirsty is something we try to avoid. Humm…it’s like being needy. We want to avoid that too.

We avoid because we are afraid we will never get what we need, I think. But that is God’s blessing – literally, here: you will be satisfied. So go ahead let yourself know what it is to be hungry or thirsty for Righteousness – it’s the only way you’ll find out what it’s like to have those needs satisfied.

Your thoughts?

