DAY 21 BEATITUDES – MATTHEW 5:7

21

BLESSED ARE THE MERCIFUL, FOR THEY SHALL RECEIVE MERCY.

Mercy, according to Dictionary.com is “compassionate or kindly forbearance shown toward an offender, an enemy, or other person in one’s power; compassion, pity, or benevolence.”  The root comes from the French and Latin “reward or wages”.

So, basically what will I pay someone for offending me?  What wage will I meet out for a broken promise, a mistake, carelessness, cruelty, injustice?  In my hurt and anger and disappointment and indignation, what will I pack into that retaliatory ball of fire and hurl with all my might at that wrongdoer?

Jesus suggests – for my own happiness – that nuclear-powered missile should be loaded with “compassion, forbearance, pity and benevolence.”

Can you imagine if I fired back MERCY when I had been handed injustice?

I love the French word for Thank You.  It’s merci.   When I consider how God has responded to me – well, that is the perfect response: Merci!

Therefore, be imitators of God as dearly loved children and live in love, just as Christ also loved us and gave himself for us, a sacrificial and fragrant offering to God. Eph. 5:1

But God had mercy on me so that Christ Jesus could use me as a prime example of his great patience with even the worst sinners. Then others will realize that they, too, can believe in him and receive eternal life. I Tim. 1:16 NLT

One thought on “DAY 21 BEATITUDES – MATTHEW 5:7

  1. Mercy is kindness showed to someone who others may think is undeserving. So all mercy is kindness, but all kindness is not mercy. Although, given the “for all have sinned” theory, perhaps all kindness is mercy. I think the verse itself supports this. Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy. Sounds to me like everyone needs a little mercy sometimes.

    Regardless, we have been called to give mercy. Micah 6:8 He has shown you, O mortal, what is good. And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.

    Also, kindness is one of the fruit of the Spirit. If we are filled with him, then kindness should be something that overflows from us.

    Balancing kindness with truth and mercy with discipline. These are things that I have found to be difficult to navigate in my everyday life. We shall see where this week leads.

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

