DAY 23 BEATITUDES – TITUS 3:1-11; EPH. 2:1-10

23

…FOR THEY SHALL RECEIVE MERCY

Mercy to others –How much?  A lot and then some if we use the same measure God used for us.

…but [God] according to his own mercy, by the washing of regeneration and renewal of the Holy Spirit, whom he poured out on us richly through Jesus Christ our Savior – Titus

But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us,… so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus – Eph.

I have to say that some days I start out with an attitude of mercy.  I am ready to be merciful until I have to give some away.  Once the source is tapped, it sure seems to run out quickly.  I realize I’m not so Mercy – Full as I thought.

Reminds me of a funny story Brene Brown tells about gratitude.  She teaches that to develop gratefulness, an ATTITUDE of gratitude won’t get it.  She explains it this way:  “It’s like yoga.  I have a yoga attitude. I have yoga shoes.  I live in yoga pants.  I even have, in my house somewhere, a yoga mat.  I do not practice yoga!”

Maybe that is what I sometimes do with Mercy.  I have a mercy attitude.  God does not.  He practices and continues to PRACTICE mercy in big, broad, paint dripping brush strokes. Sometimes He just dumps the bucketful on our heads.  His supply is immeasurable.

I’m going to have to give up my merciful attitude and start filling up out of His bucket. Then I have to go be a painter – glob-bing mercy on everything and everyone.  That’s how you get good at it – Practice.

Your thoughts?

