DAY 25 BEATITUDES – MATTHEW 5:7 DISCUSSION

25“BLESSED ARE THE MERCIFUL, FOR THEY SHALL RECEIVE MERCY”

FOR THE WAGES OF SIN IS DEATH; BUT THE FREE GIFT OF GOD IS ETERNAL LIFE IN CHRIST JESUS OUR LORD. ROM 6:23 ESV

I’ve been reviewing my posts from this week on Mercy to discover what, if anything, I have learned.

Just writing “learned” reminds me that simply knowing that mercy is the right response is not enough. Mercy must result in action. Doesn’t have to always be the big thing like what the Good Samaritan did. In fact, it may be more like how Jesus treated the lawyer – which for me would probably be harder!

Mercy requires relationship. You can’t be merciful in the safety of your own thoughts. Mercy means hands on, face to face interaction with, dare I say it? —–people! The good ones, the bad ones, the ugly ones – your friends, your family, your enemies and those who you don’t even know – yet. Be ready. It’s going to come up.

Mercy is not an attitude. An attitude of mercy might get you to the corner but then you’re going to be e.m.p.t.y. “Why?” Because your nice thoughts and intentions come from a little tiny tank of self-motivation. My mercy supply must come from my knowing the very deep, immeasurable riches of God’s mercy to me. You gotta spend some time letting that sink in. Anything less and you’re suckin’ air.

Mercy is a wage I can chose to pay when someone’s actions are offensive. It’s not my default. I have to develop a plan to keep my heart close to the heart of God. He gives the free gift of eternal life to anyone who needs it, even when the wage they were due was death. I’m one of those receivers.

He is the gift that keeps on giving because He tells me that I will be happy and blessed if I follow His example of being merciful.  And, bonus! — I will receive the reward of mercy myself. God knows I need it. God help me to give it.

Your thoughts?

