DAY 31 BEATITUDES – MATTHEW 5:9

31

BLESSED ARE THE PEACEMAKERS, FOR THEY SHALL BE CALLED SONS OF GOD

Would it be an accolade if I referred to you by saying, “like father, like son”? With most dads, given the circumstances, it could go either way. The only way to guarantee it to be a compliment is if the father is our heavenly one.

I can’t think of any time I wouldn’t desire being called “a son of God.” Being a peacemaker is apparently a sign of my son-ship. [sons – 5207 hyios – a son (by birth or adoption) – figuratively: those who in character and life resemble God]

Peacemaker in the Greek comes from two words: Eirene – “to join, tie together into a whole” and poieo – “to make or do”. In my own words, then, it means someone who makes things whole. I like the sound of that.

First, it makes perfect sense in light of Jesus. His entire goal was restoration. He came to make my relationship with God “whole again.” Billy Graham aptly named his evangelistic tract “Peace with God” because that is exactly what happens. Jesus’ job was to reconcile our differences – between the Father and us.

I can think of 3 general areas where I am called to be peacemaker.

♦Paul says in 2 Cor. 5 this ministry of reconciliation that Jesus began has been given to me. As an ambassador for Christ, God is making an appeal through me to draw people to Himself. Like an ambassador at the UN I am asked to work toward opportunities that open doors between nations. That seems like peacemaking to me.

♦In speaking to the church Paul says in Eph. 4 walk in a manner worthy of the calling with which you have been called …being diligent to preserve the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace.” Unity and love are one way those outside the family know we follow Jesus. Not to mention God is not big on family squabbles. Prefer one another – that should keep the peace.

♦“If possible, so far as it depends on you, be at peace with all men.” This follows close behind the verse “Bless those who persecute you.” (Rom.12) As best you can – be at peace with everybody – even your enemies. Wow! God has left no stone unturned.

Let me just say, all of these are hard and there are plenty of times I flatly “Don’t wanna!” When I need motivation it comes in the form of this:

BLESSED ARE THE PEACEMAKERS
FOR THEY SHALL BE CALLED A CHIP OFF THE OLD BLOCK.

…that will make my Daddy proud!

Your thoughts?

