DAY 33 BEATITUDES – I JOHN 2:28-3:3

33-2…FOR THEY SHALL BE CALLED SONS OF GOD

And now, little children, abide in him…See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God; and so we are.

Abiding has come to mind before. Usually in the context “that I can do nothing” apart from Jesus – I cannot live out any of these Beatitudes or anything else for that matter.

Today abiding took another turn. How can I possibly understand the kind of love the Father has given me? I know it is the easy answer to say “Jesus died for me”. That’s a fact whether or not it is packed with emotion but it is a bit distant to my fully embracing what it all means. That’s where abiding came in.

Abide – rest in – connected to – nurtured by – remain in – dwell here – live here. Children understand their Father best when they live together. Day in and day out, in good times and not, in homework and play, in victories and scraped knees – Dads/Moms/Parents are there with you. And while they are not perfect there is still the image of living together and what you come to know about them and your relationship with them.

Abiding – living minute by minute – with my heavenly Father – that’s how I might truly begin to grasp the “kind of love” he has given me.

Gabriela posted a song on the IF: Equip blog today about being a child of God. There was one line that got me – Your blood flows through my veins1. I have good thoughts about being an adopted child of God. It is an incredible honor to be taken from outside and brought near – right into the family. I have been given every privilege and inheritance – just like a birth child.

What if I have also been made a child of God’s very own blood? That really makes me His doesn’t it? DNA, paternity test – the whole enchilada…

Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature;
the old things passed away; behold, new things have come.
2 Cor. 5:17

1 No Longer Slaves // Jonathan David & Melissa Helser // We Will Not Be Shaken Official Lyric Video https://youtu.be/f8TkUMJtK5k

Your thoughts?

