DAY 37 BEATITUDES- JOHN 15:17-27

37

BLESSED ARE THOSE PERSECUTED FOR RIGHTEOUSNESS’ SAKE…

Remember the word that I said to you: ‘A servant is not greater than his master.’ If they persecuted me, they will also persecute you.

Jesus said He was hated because His message was in contrast to what people preferred to hear. He was Light to their Darkness and most were not thrilled. I dare say to live “in the world but not of the world” does make one the odd man out. Jesus understood this would happen and since a “servant is not greater than his master,” he wanted the disciples to understand it too.

The interesting thing to me is what he says after the part about hate.

“But when the Helper comes, whom I will send to you from the Father, the Spirit of truth, who proceeds from the Father, he will bear witness about me. And you also will bear witness, because you have been with me from the beginning.”

The short version of what this tells me is this: When under fire, lean on the Holy Spirit and remember I have been chosen to be His. I will survive whatever comes because I have a promise: Mine is the Kingdom of Heaven.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
PERSECUTE 1377 diṓkō – properly, aggressively chase, like a hunter pursuing a catch (prize). in any way whatever to harass, trouble, molest one; to persecute

HATE 3404 miséō – properly, to detest (on a comparative basis); hence, denounce; to love someone or something less than someone (something) else, i.e. to renounce one choice in favor of another

One thought on “DAY 37 BEATITUDES- JOHN 15:17-27

Your thoughts?

