DAY 13 NEHEMIAH 9:1-31

13Nevertheless, in your great mercies you did not make an end of them or forsake them, for you are a gracious and merciful God.

Grace and mercy are not the natural character qualities of humankind but this prayer demonstrates they obviously describe our God.

“Unmerited favor” is a common way we define GRACE. God owes us nothing and yet has given us everything. In every cycle of disobedience – from Adam and Eve, to the nation of Israel to me – He is ready to welcome us home even before we have an inkling of an idea to ask for His grace. I think He might be more disappointed that we choose not to return than He will ever be in having to forgive us for the one-billionth time. His love is simply not based on our performance but on our being.

God has a LOVE/GRACE relationship with the people of his creation. Note that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. Jesus did not become our mediation in order to make God desire us – He was the proof of His desire.

“Be a giver of Grace“, John C. once told me. I took it to heart. I tried in the circumstance he was addressing and have tried to make it a practice. Probably would not be a news flash that I fall short – regularly. When I do succeed it is an obvious reminder that the Holy Spirit still lives in me.

Mercy – “Blessed are the merciful for they shall receive mercy.” I learned a lot from our study on the Beatitudes about mercy. Mercy is a wage or reward, if you will. It is what God decided to pay me even when I didn’t deserve it. The plan is I should pay it to others – that’s how it goes.

Paul says, “Be imitators of God.” Grace and Mercy in me are by-products of understanding of what God has given me. The well is deep on His end.

Your thoughts?

