DAY 16 NEHEMIAH 11:1-24

16Now the leaders of the people lived in Jerusalem. And the rest of the people cast lots to bring one out of ten to live in Jerusalem the holy city, while nine out of ten remained in the other towns. And the people blessed all the men who willingly offered to live in Jerusalem.

“Help wanted: must be willing to relocate.”

Nehemiah’s newspaper ad would have looked something like this. It was time for the day to day practice of what had been proclaimed. The leaders were in place but the city lacked the infrastructure people. (Funny, we dwell on electing the “position holder” but don’t think much of how many others it takes for him or her to do their job. Behind every successful X there are 50 other x’s making it happen!)

These worker bees are not insignificant. Their names are recorded in this chapter. They have been chosen by the casting of lots. While a common practice in Bible times – the Jews accepted the outcome regarding “spiritual” questions as the will of God. So, if I were a Jew living in a city and the lot fell to me to move to Jerusalem – then I would consider that a calling from God.

So the question becomes: if God is calling, am I willing to relocate? The Jews physically moved out of the safety of their homes to live in, work in and defend the city. I’m not sure relocating always requires a physical move – though I’ve always thought fondly about being a missionary to the French Riviera 🙂 .

Sometimes I am called to relocate my resources or my attention. And my experience confirms, a change of direction can come as clearly as the toss of the lot. Turns out a motorcycle accident or an aging parent can suddenly make you a caregiver. You’ve moved so fast you have to send for your stuff!

When the assignment is long, serving the infrastructure is tedious and defending the wall is hard work, I am apt to not see my job in much of a positive light. The Lord hears my complaints. Reminds me He instigated my relocation as a way to serve Him and He is with me. My heart is back on track. “Let’s do this!”

If anyone serves me, he must follow me; and where I am, there will my servant be also. If anyone serves me, the Father will honor him. John 12:26

Your thoughts?

