Day 8 Sarah – Genesis 17:15-21, 18:1-15

08 sarahAbraham fell on his face and laughed and said to himself, “Shall a child be born to a man who is a hundred years old? Shall Sarah, who is ninety years old, bear a child?”

So Sarah laughed to herself, saying, “After I am worn out, and my lord is old, shall I have pleasure?”

Is anything too hard for the Lord?

From these passages it looks like Sarah was not the only one laughing – Abraham did too. And like many have said “Come on, who wouldn’t have?” The whole idea of them having a baby at their age was just beyond their understanding. And if I’m honest, why does God choose to do it this way? It’s so confusing.

So maybe the real point is for God to show that there is nothing too hard for Him.

As for believing God for a promise from His Word, that has happened a few particular times in my life – usually in a time of real struggle. Some I remember so clearly.

“Save the son of thy handmaiden.” (Ps. 86:16) I clung to these words when my son was in trouble as a young teen. When the meeting was over, I experienced the relief of God’s intervention. He did exactly as He had prompted me to believe.

Almost all of Jeremiah is literally highlighted in one of my Bibles-in pink marker! Those were God’s assurance about a wayward daughter’s return. “They shall be carried to Babylon, and they shall be there until the day I visit them,” declares the LORD. “Then I will bring them back and restore them to this place.(Jer. 28:22) It was long coming but God rescued her and us.

Jan. 30, 2010 brought verses for my grandson: Jer. 29:4-7, 10-14

But seek the welfare of the city where I have sent you into exile, and pray to the Lord on its behalf, for in its welfare you will find your welfare…10 “For thus says the Lord: When seventy years are completed for Babylon, I will visit you, and I will fulfill to you my promise and bring you back to this place. 11 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare[b] and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

And Luke 15:20, 22-24, 32

24 For this my son was dead, and is alive again; he was lost, and is found.’ And they began to celebrate.

We are still waiting for a celebration.

Now days, I’m not really trusting God for something particular, though maybe I should be. Instead my mind goes to the verse I memorized a couple of summers back. It was my intentional prayer every morning then for weeks and now, as the Lord brings it to mind.

In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice;
in the morning I lay my requests before you
and wait expectantly. (Ps. 5:3)

Your thoughts?

