Day 15 Rebekah – Psalms 27:3-6, 118:8-9; Isaiah 26:3-4

15 Rebekah

Psalm 37:3-6

Trust in the Lord, and do good; dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness.
Delight yourself in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.
Commit your way to the Lord; trust in him, and he will act.
He will bring forth your righteousness as the light, and your justice as the noonday.

As I wait on the Lord’s direction for my next steps of ministry – a little befuddled and lost – these verses from Ps. 37 are speaking to me.

Just like in Rebekah’s case, there are things for me to do and things to be left for the Lord to do. I will be completely frustrated if I worry about His part. It is actually just enough for me to work on the tasks He requests. Those are “in my wheelhouse” as JH would say. Here’s the give and take of it:

Trust in the Lord, and do good(I recently heard a Bible teacher say if there is an “and” then in interpretation the thoughts should remain together.) I’ve always had this idea that if you were doing the “right thing” – even if it seems careless (like sipping from the common communion cup or eating the non-gluten free pita bread), God would not let anything happen to you. I still think that, actually, but this goes quite a bit further.

“God asks me to overcome any fear or hesitation I have about doing good – wherever I see a need – by trusting Him to protect, to provide for and to sustain me and those I might serve.”

Dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness – another couplet. (My first though is what God is speaking to my heart through these words. “Stay where you are and be faithful to following Me.”) Another translation says, “Dwell in the land and cultivate it.” Sounds surprisingly like the instructions given to Adam and Eve in the garden.

“Trust the Lord and do good” is how I participate in cultivating where God has placed me.

Delight yourself in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart. The Hebrew word for delight comes from the root meaning of being soft or pliable – even delicate. The other “D” word is desires – “desires of your heart” – requests or petitions.

“Be pliable in the hands of the Lord and He will grant your requests.”

Commit your way to the Lord – Commit here is a funny translation if you ask me. It basically means to roll away – roll away a big stone – but it can be “commit”. Go figure! Way could mean an actual road but is probably more figurative – so one’s course of life, or action, undertakings, etc.

“Roll your plans on to the Lord – and trust Him to direct you.”

Trust in him, and he will act. Trust is an imperative – be bold, confident, secure, sure, and hope in the Lord. Act is the verb to do or make.

“Be bold and confident in the Lord for He will make things happen and do what He has said.”

He will bring forth your righteousness as the light, and your justice as the noonday. This is strictly God’s work.

“Though I may stubble (Ps 37:24) the Lord will hold me up to the end.”

Righteousness and justice are the foundation of your throne;
love and faithfulness go before you. Psalm 89:14

One thought on “Day 15 Rebekah – Psalms 27:3-6, 118:8-9; Isaiah 26:3-4

  1. Once upon a time, I was drawn into church because the pastor seemed to be speaking to my life – as if he was reading my mail, so to speak. Now the IF readings seem to be doing that. What a faithful God.

    Like

Your thoughts?

