Day 17 Rahab – Joshua 2:1-14

17 RahabWe have heard …

Long before Facebook, Twitter and even the Pony Express, the stories about God have been spread far and wide. I have heard it said and I have said it myself – “people are not interested in what you have done for God. They want to hear what God has done for you.”

This was absolutely the case in my own salvation experience. My understanding of people relating to God was pretty much they signed on to do things for him. I definitely did not need one more obligation in my life so God was not of much interest. But one night, sitting in an old, teal Dodge Dart, my new friend Susan told me of all the things her God had done for her. And as soon as I heard it, my heart began to melt.

It was exactly like the Psalmist said:

Say to God, “How awesome are your deeds! So great is your power that your enemies cringe before you.” (Psalm 66:3)

I was that enemy.  And while I was not openly hostile, my allegiances were directed toward the idols of the world, who promised much but delivered little.

God is not shy about revealing Himself for He wants to make His saving grace known to anyone who will act on it by putting their faith – trust in Him.  I know of at least two women who found Him that way…Rahab and me.

Many, Lord my God, are the wonders you have done, the things you planned for us.
None can compare with you; were I to speak and tell of your deeds,
they would be too many to declare.
Psalm 40:5

Your thoughts?

